The Iron Hunt by Marjorie M. Liu

13 Oct

Favorite Lines: “Someone pushed. And a bus hit me.” (p. 182)

Maxine Kiss, demon prison warden, protects the world from the dark creatures that would decimate humanity and the world. She is protected by living tattoos by day, she is weakened at night after the demons that pose as body art peel themselves from her body to walk the night.

It is Maxine’s duty to carry on her family name by giving birth to a daughter who will ensure her “boys” (demons) survive, but that can only happen if she lives long enough to figure out the gift her mother has left to her in care of an old man.

Maxine’s lover, Grant, and a few other major players will aid her on her journey to self-discovery as the mother of all zombies and a spirit-like-creature target Max.

The Iron Hunt could be a great movie. The prose begins in staccato like sentences similar to short flashes of imagery when movies begin. The way the tattoos adjust to protect the lead female heroine is awesome, while the male characters are intriguing. Just picturing the scenes is awesome.

I really liked the concept of the book. However, I was bored. The action would get started and then go off on tangents to the past. I was never bored enough to set the book down and not pick it up, but my attention would drift and I’d force it back.

I wish there had been more about Grant, because I knew he was a key player (Ms. Liu gives background information) but I never read the short story that introduced Maxine and Grant. I got the gist of everything, but it might have meant more had I felt invested in the characters from reading the prequel.

I don’t feel like I’ll rush out and buy the next book in the series, but I’ll read it. (I think it’ll be better because all the background work is out of the way.)

Check out what Dear Author, Darque Reviews, I Read What?, and Urban Fantasy have to say about The Iron Hunt.

3 Responses to “The Iron Hunt by Marjorie M. Liu”

  1. Rosie October 14, 2008 at 12:51 am #

    I’m a fan and have this in my tbr. Bored? Wow. That’s never happened for me with her books before. Now I’m sort of curious to read it right away, but I got a couple of others lined up ahead of it.

  2. scooper October 14, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    Rosie: I think boring was the wrong word to use. The story lost my attention. Kind of like when you’re listening to someone speak and then they fade out as you think of something else. This is all before you realize that they’re still talking and tune back in.

  3. Kimberly Swan October 16, 2008 at 10:54 pm #

    Thanks for the DR mention! I think we had the same thoughts on Grant, and I too wondered if we missed learning more about him in the short story. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers

