Red by Jordan Summers

6 Dec

redsummersFavorite Lines: “What the hell happened to her? Where are her eyes?” (p. 19)

Women are being eaten alive by a predator and two people are determined to find their killer.

Gina Santiago, aka Red, has taken leave from her elite tactical team in order to investigate a brutal killing. Her investigation leads her to small town Nuria and its sheriff, Morgan Hunter.

Morgan is a strong man. He refuses to give the tactical team any reason to visit his town, because they are known for destroying and then asking questions. So when a young woman winds up mauled to death, he decides to keep her death to himself and look for her killer.

In a time when being different is not acceptable, two people will risk all that they are for a chance at love. They will push the boundaries in search of a killer who has plans of his own. Plans that involve Gina…

Red by Jordan Summers is a fast paced urban fantasy romance with interesting characters and a cool plot. I loved the idea of a woman with secrets and part of a male dominated team making the decision to take an extended leave in order to right a wrong.

Granted the whole killer idea was pretty thin. I knew who the killer was relatively early and I think that is partially because of meeting so few characters in the small town of Nuria.

While I enjoyed the uber dark villain’s thoughts, I was disappointed when his identity was unveiled. I don’t feel like I got an explanation for his behavior and his actions towards Morgan. It was kind of like I’m a killer and should be alpha, but I hid it from everyone because I can.

Red was a super quick read for me. I have no strong opinions about it one way or another except for really liking its packaging. (It has red dye on all the edges of the book.) I will be reading the next installment, Scarlet, which continues the story of Morgan and Gina.

Read other people’s thoughts about Red at Village Books, Dear Author and Musings of the Romantic.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers

