Archive | 8:30 am

Review: Kindling the Moon by Jenn Bennett

27 Jul

Kindling the Moon by Jenn Bennett
Pocket Books (June 2011)
Mass Market $7.99; ebook: $7.99
ISBN:  978-1-456-2052-8

Favorite Lines: The trek up the stairs was excruciating. Why a thongwhy today? I guess it could have been worse. I mean, yes, the lower half of my rear was hanging out, but at least I wasn’t wearing cheap multipack cotton panties, full of holes with the elastic worn out, like half of my others. When I got the nagging feeling that his eyes were on my naked backside, I wondered if it would look cowardly if I took two stairs at a time.

“Nice ass.” (p. 53)

Meet Arcadia Bell: bartender, renegade magician, fugitive from the law. . . .

Being the spawn of two infamous occultists (and alleged murderers) isn’t easy, but freewheeling magician Arcadia “Cady” Bell knows how to make the best of a crummy situation. After hiding out for seven years, she’s carved an incognito niche for herself slinging drinks at the demon-friendly Tambuku Tiki Lounge.

But she receives an ultimatum when unexpected surveillance footage of her notorious parents surfaces: either prove their innocence or surrender herself. Unfortunately, the only witness to the crimes was an elusive Æthyric demon, and Cady has no idea how to find it. She teams up with Lon Butler, an enigmatic demonologist with a special talent for sexual spells and an arcane library of priceless stolen grimoires. Their research soon escalates into a storm of conflict involving missing police evidence, the decadent Hellfire Club, a ruthless bounty hunter, and a powerful occult society that operates way outside the law. If Cady can’t clear her family name soon, she’ll be forced to sacrifice her own life . . . and no amount of running will save her this time.

I was looking forward to Jenn Bennett‘s first book in the Arcadia Bell series, Kindling the Moon. I read that it was an urban fantasy, but it read more like a paranormal romance because the focus of the book seemed to be on Arcadia and Lon’s burgeoning relationship. I enjoyed the book, but I gotta admit my favorite parts involved Lon’s young, teenaged son, Jupiter, aka Jupe.

Jupe was funny, open and caring. He wanted to know everything, had common sense and a zest for life. He was the opposite of both Cady and Lon in many ways which made him a refreshing character. The adults…well, they were extremely secretive. For Cady, hiding equaled self-preservation. For Lon, the truth was too painful to focus on. Facing his failures as a father and the effects of blindly loving a woman will either bring him closer to Cady or push them apart.

There was much to love about the book. It had a serious tone, but there were sections which made me laugh. The heroine’s grew as a character and the heat between Lon and Cady was satisfying. However, there were moments which made me scratch my head. First of all, Lon is no alpha hero. Cady takes the lead in moments of danger, but never really seems secure in her role as “bad ass.” Then there is Cady’s best friend and business partner, Kar Yee. She doesn’t seem like much of a friend. She feels like a flat secondary character. Finally, I never felt the rush to clear Cady’s parents’ names. The story just sort of meanders until it reaches the conclusion.

About the conclusion: Despite the foreshadowing used throughout the story, it wasn’t until the very end that I saw the hints for what they were. Clues to the murderer’s identity. I can’t tell you how I felt, cause, hey, it’d give too much away. But, wow, I so didn’t see the ending coming. *grinning*

Biggest issue with the book: The back cover blurb sucks rotten eggs! It mentions the Hellfire Club, a place that isn’t even mentioned until page 184. The blurb gives away too much information and the club doesn’t really play much of a role in the story. Well, not the way the blurb makes it sound. Kindling the Moon is definitely one of those stories where you are better off skipping the blurb and just reading the book.

Books in the Series What others think about Kindling the Moon:
Kindling the Moon
Wicked Lil Pixie
Summoning the Night (April 2012)
The Spinecracker
Royally Bitchy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers