Archive | 10:17 am

Review: Nightfire by Lisa Marie Rice

6 Mar

Nightfire by Lisa Marie Rice
HarperCollins (Feb. 2012)
Trade: $13.99; ebook: $9.99
ISBN: 9780061808289
Excerpt

Favorite Lines: “He was utterly aroused, and she didn’t need the huge column of his penis against her belly to know that. It was imprinted in every line of his face. The cords of his neck protruded, a red flush stood out under his tanned skin, his jaw muscles were clenched. His eyes were narrowed, chips of blue fire between the lids.” (p. 86, e-galley)

Chloe Mason’s childhood memories consist of seemingly endless hospital stays. Now all grown up and healthy, her determination to fill the gaping holes in her past leads her to her long-lost brother, Harry . . . which brings Harry’s friend and business partner, Mike Keillor, crashing into her life and her heart.

Former Marine Force Recon sniper and SWAT officer—a martial arts expert and owner of a successful security company—Mike can deal coolly and efficiently with any threat . . . until he’s blindsided by something he never expected: fierce, fiery passion . . . and love.

But when Chloe inadvertently crosses the Russian mob, Mike realizes that evil is darkening his world once again. He has already lost his family; he will not lose the woman who enflames him, who makes him whole. Failure is not an option.

I read Nightfire as a stand alone, but it’s really book three in Lisa Marie Rice’s Protectors trilogy.

Three men own a security company and in the first two books two of the men found love. Nightfire, follows the third owner as he comes to terms with his past and finds a woman to love and be loved by. That said, the main characters from books one and two have vital roles in the story line which connects Chloe and Mike into a couple.

The story begins with a broken hero waking up to the fact that he needs to change his life. He’s managed to hook up with a drugged out hooker and is disgusted with himself. Over the course of the book he begins to deal with the issues that prevent him from being in a relationship. The good thing about this book is that we are given a damaged hero and introduce him to the woman he wants before taking a break. That break is initiated by Chloe’s brother, and while I get Mike is known to be a man whore the words felt overly harsh when you consider the amount of time the two men have known one another.

“Chloe’s been through hell and back, Mike. I saw the way you were looking at her and I know what you’re like with women. I’m sorry to say this but I have to. Go fuck someone else, somewhere else. I don’t want you near my little sister. She deserves better than you. I want you to give me your word you won’t touch her. Because if you do, I’ll beat the crap out of you. Or try. You might even win, but she’d be even more disgusted with you than she already is.”–p. 122-123

That break kind of threw me–it jerked me right out of the story–but it was absolutely necessary as it gave the hero and heroine time to work on themselves before putting them together as a couple. I know I’d have had a fit had the hero immediately jumped in the bed with the fragile heroine after coming from a hooker’s bed.

We learn about Chloe, but I felt like I knew more about Mike. When I think about the book, it’s not Chloe’s childhood or the things that happened to her that I think of. Mike pops into my mind. His childhood, the way he copes with his pain and him finding peace. Those are the thoughts that run through my mind. It’s definitely Mike’s book.

Nightfire isn’t all pleasant, lovey-dovey moments. It has several dark scenes involving a brothel, water boarding and forced prostitution. It’s a nice contrast to the normal off page, water downed horror that often happens in romance. I like knowing what’s going on and seeing someone try to change the bad. The sex and action are exciting, making Nightfire a nice addition to the contemporary, romantic suspense genre.

Thinking back, the story is a blur. It entertained me, but I don’t know how often I’d re-read it. It’s not one of those books that I set aside as read and never to read again, nor is it a read once a year book.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers