Archive | 8:50 am

Murphy’s Law

1 Oct

Murphy's Law book coverMurphy's Law Book cover p2

Okay, I must admit that lately I’ve been obsessed with otherworldly books:  vampires, shapeshifters, the future… I’ve read Foster in the past and loved her books but they are contemporary and I’m into paranormal or so I thought.

Well I’ve lost two months of Romantic Times magazines and of course I didn’t write down a to buy list. Basically, I have no idea of what’s coming out this month or next so I’m winging it at the book store. I found Kick Ass at the same time (which I didn’t like) and went home determined to get some kind of escape.

Murphy’s Law is about Ashley Miles and Quinton Murphy. Ashley works two jobs and goes to school full time in an attempt to overcome her extremely poor and traumatic past. In comes Quinton who’s a millionaire that is hiding a soft side. There is danger stalking the couple that stems from a previous book, Judes LawThe press release says:

“Anything That Can Go Wrong . . .

Nothing is going to go wrong. Ashley Miles has worked too hard for her independence to let some Bentley-driving hunk named Quinton Murphy interfere with her plans—or her freedom. Yes, the chemistry is phenomenal. Kind of scary, actually. But that’s it. NO emotional commitments.

. . . Will

But he’s SO wonderful—a woman could fall in love . . . How did that happen? That wasn’t part of the plan! But can she trust him? Really trust him? The man is just so mysterious. There’s only one solution: put it all on the line and see what Quinton does when she tells him how she feels. And hope everything that can go wrong . . . won’t . . . “.

The dialogue is witty and believable. The flaws in the heroine are believable as are those of the hero. My main problem with this book is that Ashley forgives Quinton too fast. It doesn’t take days for her recover from hurt feelings just moments. Maybe I’m just to unforgiving but overall this was a feelgood read that I enjoyed. I’d give it 3.5 stars out of 5.

