Archive | 3:05 pm

Dead Man Rising

8 Oct

  If you haven’t readyou might not want to read this post.

I loved this book! I also cried while reading this book. Saintcrow writes fantasy but this feels like it is bordering on the romance side. This book picks up where Working for the Devil ended with Dante Valentine trying to come to terms with her new life as a half demon half human. ( Information that’s handy to know if you haven’t read the first book: hedaira, human woman tied to a Fallen demon.)

The psychological aspect of this book is boggling. I feel as if I were in her mind. I felt her emotions and I cried when she couldn’t or wouldn’t. I understood her. Dante was given a demon protector by Lucifer in the first novel. Danny and Japhrimel connected and became lovers at which time Japh gave Dante some of his demon power. To make a long great story short, Japh died and Dante was devastated.

In Dead Man Walking, Dante is still trying to cope with the death of her lover while helping to find a serial killer. Dante is forced to deal with her past (in an abusive foster home like environment). This book is wonderful. The title works for me because Dante feels like she is already dead but her body is to stupid to realize it. I can’t tell any more without giving away the many other threads of the book away. I suggest reading these books in order to get the most out of the series. I don’t think that the book works well alone. I give this book a 4.5 out of 5. 

