Archive | 9:42 am

When people suggest a book

23 Oct

When people suggest books for you to read, do you read them? I usually try to. It’s a great conversation starter and exposes me to a wider variety of books than I normally would read.

When someone suggests a book based on what they think you like to read and you hate it what do you do? This just happened to me last night. I was given a book on Thursday of last week along with the message: “I think you’re really going to like this series. It’s written by Lora Leigh and you liked the Pride series she wrote.”

I liked the idea of the Pride series. I read one book from the series and the sex scenes were smokin’. The plot line was pretty lame though. I decided to be a good sport and read the first chapter last night. I was disgusted. The book made me uncomfortable and not in a good way. After reading the first page I knew that it wasn’t my kind of book. So tomorrow when I see this person I’ll have to tell her so. I don’t want to hurt her feelings but I also don’t want to pretend to like this brand of erotica (there I said it).

Help! Suggestions wanted!

