The Survivors

4 Apr

Favorite Lines: “Four generations of soldiers were joined in a common purpose. That they were all men of the same family just made it better, because they all had the same thing at stake.” (74)

A plane has gone down in the mountains carrying Evan O’Ryan’s five year old son. When the body count on the plane is checked it’s discovered that three people are missing from the crash site: Johnny O’Ryan, a young woman and a Senator. Deborah Sanborn lives in the Appalachians where the crash occurred. She offers the O’Ryan men use of ‘the sight’ she carries within herself, the only hope they have of finding Johnny. They have no clue that one of the missing people is a killer or that the killer has two people to silence before being rescued.

This book is a page turner. I didn’t put this book down until I had finished it. McCall has penned a book that includes two romances tightly woven into one exciting book. The book jumps smoothly from person to person in a way that reminds me of Virginia Woolf. (I’m no fan of Woolf, so selling me on this book shows great workmanship.) It was almost like being in a bouncing bubble. Floating on the wind, from one area to another. One life to another. I fell in love the the O’Ryan men and you will too. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants a good book to read.

4 Responses to “The Survivors”

  1. Rinda April 4, 2007 at 9:09 am #

    I’m sharing the review with her. Known Sharon/Dinah more than ten years and she is just as nice as the heroines in her books. 🙂

  2. Betty Sanders April 4, 2007 at 10:46 am #

    I have the book, but I’m afraid to start reading it until all my pending deadlines get past. I know that once I start I’m not going to be able to lay it down.

  3. scooper April 4, 2007 at 12:29 pm #

    Rinda- Thanks.

    Betty- Sounds like a great plan. I did nothing until I finished the book.

  4. Rosie April 4, 2007 at 5:47 pm #

    I used to read all her books and took a break awhile back. This sounds pretty good, I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

