Kitty Takes a Holiday

10 Apr

Favorite Line: “Oh,God, I’m a hack. An ugly talentless hack, and nobody ever liked me, not once, not ever.” (83)

Kitty is back. After loosing a fight in Denver in book one and being publicly outed in book two, she has returned for round three. Kitty Takes a Holiday picks right up where Kitty Goes to Washington ends. She’s on hiatus attempting to write a book. Someone doesn’t want her to stay in the small town she’s stopped at and he/she is using blood magic to frighten Kitty away.

Ben and Cormac are still around and Kitty kind of/sort of hooks up with one of them. No, I’m not telling which one. She’s dealing with being the poster child for werewolves and has fixated on a rival talk show host. (The talk show host rivalry is the best part of the book.)

I like Kitty, but this book didn’t move me in any fashion. I like that she’s human or realistic. I know I have days when I think like her, the hysterical, self-doubting moments. Despite my connection to her occasional emotional bouts, I feel blah. No trace of adrenaline leaving my body because I was wrapped up in the story. No lingering sadness or happiness. The setting was pretty nice though and I was a little pissy that a character I liked turned traitor. All in all, I won’t be reading this again.

3 Responses to “Kitty Takes a Holiday”

  1. rhian April 11, 2007 at 7:10 am #

    oh man – i just bought this. i thought the first book fabulous, the 2nd one okay but not as good and it sounds like the third will be even less so… dang it. i may put it in the “i’ll read anything” pile for when i’m desperate and more open to consuming anything at all.

  2. scooper April 11, 2007 at 9:03 am #

    I read it when I was in an ‘anything mood’ and I’m not mad I read it; I’m disappointed. I didn’t mention it in the review, but I did enjoy her emotional experience of writing her memoirs. I could relate to it.

  3. Susan Helene Gottfried April 11, 2007 at 3:39 pm #

    *blush*

    I still have to read #1 in the series…

Leave a Reply

