What a start (filled with whining)

13 Apr

I just got a speeding ticket. What a crappy start to a new day. I was turning on to my street after taking the oldest to school, when the stupid blue and red lights turned on behind me. The kid comes to the car and tells me that I was doing 48 in a 30. Now, I had seen him and of course my eyes dropped to the odometer. It said 40 so I slowed to 35, thinking that was the speed limit. I didn’t argue with the guy, I took my ticket and went home. I called the court to find out how much it’d be and they say they can’t tell me for another week, but after I ask for a price range they say $109-136.

It took two cops to pull me over. That is one thing I hate about living here. There is so little for the cops to do that one cop is never enough. When I drive through town, I get passed in the school zones every day. Do you think there is ever a cop near? I’m just a little bit irritated. I’m trying to rationalize it. You were speeding, regardless of how much. But damn that cop. There are certain times of the year when they set out to trap you and today is one of those days. Now, I’m freaking about how I’m going to pay for it. I really don’t want to go back into a factory and it makes me want to cry.

After all the years in college to get out of the factory, I’m finding myself being sucked back in. Starting a business was a major goal is a major goal. To achieve it I need money. The only jobs around here are in factories. It is a sickening circle that sucks the soul out of a person, namely me. I’ve now got the added expense of a ticket and possibly higher insurance to pay for and it’s looking more and more like I’ll have to return to the factory scene. Well, enough whining for today. I’m going to go cry and feel sorry for myself for a little bit before trying to start the day again.

10 Responses to “What a start (filled with whining)”

  1. T. Sue VerSteeg April 13, 2007 at 12:57 pm #

    Ack! I’m so sorry sweets! That bites. It won’t save you any money up front, but an attorney will keep you from having your insurance go up and they can get it changed to faulty equipment instead of speeding. Just went through that myself. I was passing an idiot that pulled out in front of me and then decided to go 40 mph, but the cop didn’t want to hear any exuses, he just wanted to write the ticket. Go figure. Hugs and keep your chin up. No one ever said that starting your own business would be easy, but the quickest way for it NOT to happen is to give up on your dream. KEEP PUSHING and keep dreaming!!

  2. Holly April 13, 2007 at 5:06 pm #

    Awww, I’m sorry babe. Speeding tickets are the worst!

    I got pulled over a couple years ago for doing 60 in a 45, but on the ticket it said, “clocked speed, 50”. Basically, he said he “paced” me doing 60 but clocked me doing 50. I went to court and got it thrown out.

    You may want to do the same. Just FYI (and don’t you DARE tell MM I told you this) most cops don’t show up for court, and if you go to fight it and he’s not there, you don’t have to pay the fine.

    BIG HUGS! Things will look up, I’m sure.

  3. scooper April 13, 2007 at 7:39 pm #

    Thanks Toni and Holly. I was totally in a sappy mood this morning (something I’m sure you didn’t notice). I’m going to try what Holly suggests and try to get it thrown out. Hopefully he won’t show. *crossing fingers*

  4. isabellasnow April 13, 2007 at 7:46 pm #

    Sorry to hear that. I once got pulled over 3 times in one day!! Fortunately I live in a place where batting your eyelashes and offering financial compensation is “allowed”.

    Cheer up!!

  5. Rosie April 13, 2007 at 10:11 pm #

    So sorry scooper! I got pulled over for speeding years ago and told the officer he was incorrect and he let me off with a warning. I was young and stupid and am lucky I didn’t tick him off.

    Oh and my sister once told an officer that she was speeding because (and she was) she was practicing her song for a wedding she was on her way to (she was the vocalist) and the cop let her off.

    BTW, Holly gave you really good advice.

  6. Tempest Knight April 13, 2007 at 11:10 pm #

    Sorry to hear about the speed ticket. Man, seems like everyone is having a lousy Friday 13th.

  7. scooper April 14, 2007 at 1:34 pm #

    Isabella- I could only wish that my town was like that. I still don’t see why they needed two police cars to pull me and my youngest over.

    Rosie- Thanks. Doesn’t it suck that we know that we shouldn’t piss the officer off if we don’t want to get more tickets? I’m just afraid that I’ll go and he’ll show up then I’ll be stuck with court costs too.

    Tempest- This is the first time I’ve had a bad Fri. 13th (well, that I can remember). Hope yours went better than mine.

  8. Susan Helene Gottfried April 14, 2007 at 2:46 pm #

    Scoop, a lot of times, they use two cops to pull someone over in case of trouble. You know: backup. Don’t be insulted; be flattered that they were worried about how you’d react!

    I like the idea of going to court. Nothing to lose and everything to gain — and we’ll figure out the money thing. There are always solutions.

  9. rhian April 15, 2007 at 8:03 am #

    unfair tickets! I did a whole rant recently on Daisy’s blog about that. It’s been years and i’m still pissed. Go fight it – tooth and nail. grrrrrrr…….

  10. scooper April 15, 2007 at 10:13 am #

    Susan- It’s hard to find a cop when you need one, and then when the one cop finds you they need backup.

    Rhian- I’m going to find out how much court costs are and take the total amount with me up there to fight it.

Leave a Reply

