Tongue in Chic

18 Apr

Favorite Lines: “I don’t remember what I’m doing here. I’ve probably had some sort of mental breakdown.” (17)

Meadow Szarvas needs a painting her grandmother left behind in a bad divorce decades past. She decides that breaking into her grandfather’s home is the only way to get the painting. She didn’t count on the ancestral home having been sold or that it was being converted into a hotel.

Devlin Fitzwilliam is the new owner of the mansion. He recognizes Meadow as a descendant of  the former owner, a man who relished harassing him as he grew up. Devlin catches Meadow breaking and entering the hotel. He startles her and she falls knocking her head.

Meadow is terrified that she’ll be arrested and tells Devlin that she has amnesia. Devlin assures her that while she might not know who she is, he does. She is his wife.

Tongue in Chic is a hilarious book. I took it with me to a friend’s optometrist appointment and kept choking back laughter. I pretended to laugh at the receptionist when I was really cracking up at the antics of Meadow and Devlin.

Devlin is quick with his tongue (no pun intended) and always has a comeback for mischievous Meadow. There is more to the story than simple revenge on Devlin’s part and more than Meadow’s need for a painting. There is a deeper, darker secret at Waldemar (ancestral home). What? Well, you’ll have to read it to find out! If you want a book that will make you laugh, but has intimate moments worthy of your time you’ll pick up this book. I think there will be a second book in this series, but I’m not sure what it’ll be called or when it’ll come out.

5 Responses to “Tongue in Chic”

  1. amie stuart April 18, 2007 at 11:21 am #

    damnit I keep waffling over this one. I guess I”m gonna have to pick it up 😀

  2. Rosie April 18, 2007 at 12:30 pm #

    I have this in my TBR, but I think it was ReneeW who reviewed it recently and was disappointed in it. Since I have hit or miss luck with Dodd I’ve been reluctant to read it. Now I don’t know what I’m going to do. : )

  3. scooper April 18, 2007 at 10:49 pm #

    Amie- It’s good for a laugh.

    Rosie- I’m going to go read her review (if I can find it). I loved the bantering and the quick witted characters. The dark, mysterious part of the story I’m not so hot about, but I wouldn’t not read this story for the world.

  4. Amy August 17, 2007 at 5:49 pm #

    This is actually the second book in the series the first one is called Trouble in High Heels. During the book you forget that they are together until near the end, it doesn’t really matter if you read them in order. If I remember correctly there is only one part in Tongue in Chic that comes from Trouble in High Heels.

  5. scooper August 17, 2007 at 9:14 pm #

    Amy- Did you enjoy the book?

Leave a Reply

