13 After school specials

19 Apr

Remember after school specials? Well here are 13, back for a stroll down memory lane.

1. Did You Hear What Happened to Andrea? (The dangers of hitchhiking and the effects of rape)

2. Face at the Edge of the World (Taking a look at suicide.)

3. Ace Hits the Big Time (Musical, kid appropriate version of West Side Story…kinda.)

4. Two Loves for Jenny (A girl moves to the city and falls for a guy only to find out that they are competing for the same music scholarship.)

5. A Matter of Time (Dealing with death and dying)

6. First Steps (Drunk parents and children parenting)

7. Tough Girl (Child abuse, rejection, and growing up)

8. The Night Swimmers (Growing up fast, becoming the substitute parent)

9. A Special Gift (Basketball player who wants to do ballet)

10. The Gold Test (Girls dreams for the Olympics are ruined. She meets someone worse off than herself.)

11. What are Friends For? (The effects of divorce on children)

12. Schoolboy Father (Teens shouldn’t have sex, adoption)

13. My Other Mother (Adoption, growing up)

Other TT’s

1. Amy
2. Babysteps
3. Christine
4. Flip flops
5. Least Significant
6. Michelle
7. Rhian
8. Angelika
9. Cora
10. Susan
11. Just Bloggin’
12. Amie

14 Responses to “13 After school specials”

  1. amy April 19, 2007 at 9:04 am #

    What a great list..I remember those..Thanks for the memory

    Dont forget the blogging Scavenger Hunt at Amys Random Thoughts starting May 1st. Details were announced today

  2. Babystepper April 19, 2007 at 9:41 am #

    That’s an interesting list. I think I missed all those. I must’ve been watching cartoons. (I’m just classy like that.)

  3. Christine d'Abo April 19, 2007 at 11:03 am #

    Oh my…I remember most of those, parts of them at least. The one about suicide really stands out.

    I actually like some of the kids specials they have on TV today. Not as heavy as these though.

  4. Annie April 19, 2007 at 12:17 pm #

    I remember watching some of those. Do they still air that kind of stuff these days? ( I don’t have kids and don’t watch much TV so I don’t know).

    Happy TT! Thanks for stroll down memory lane!

  5. JAM April 19, 2007 at 12:27 pm #

    You know? I can distinctly remember watching Afterschool Specials, but I cannot for the life of me remember the plot of even one of them. Obviously you paid better attention than I did. Cool idea for a list too.

  6. Michelle M Pillow April 19, 2007 at 12:44 pm #

    I don’t know that I’ve seen any of those, but I remember the after school specials. 🙂

  7. rhian April 19, 2007 at 1:42 pm #

    i don’t remember any thing like that when i was a kid. I do remember School House Rock – does that count?

  8. Angelika April 19, 2007 at 3:48 pm #

    I remember the concept of the after school special. I don’t remember any of them specifically.

  9. Cora Zane April 19, 2007 at 4:34 pm #

    Oh my, I remember one that had a girl that ran away from home. Something to do with her mom searching for her, but she resisted returning… I never did finish watching it though, so I’m not sure how it ended. ^_^

    Happy TT!

  10. Susan Helene Gottfried April 19, 2007 at 4:39 pm #

    OMG, how on Earth did you remember those??? I used to love them; I was sorry when they went away. And frankly, I think it’d do my kids good to watch them, too.

    Happy TT, babe!

  11. Penny April 19, 2007 at 5:19 pm #

    What a wonderful reminder of childhood! I remember watching some of those! We always got home from school about 10-15 minutes after they started. That was in the days before we had a VCR & WAY before TiVo.

    Happy TTing!

  12. scooper April 19, 2007 at 7:50 pm #

    Thanks to all y’all for stoppin’ by. Last week the idea popped into my mind and I decided to look up the different ones. I was a little pissy that I couldn’t find the after school specials from the 90’s, but I had fun looking them up.

  13. Amie Stuart April 20, 2007 at 9:09 am #

    OMG I think I saw some of those.

    BTW four more days till HEROES returns 😀 😀 😀

  14. Gypsy April 23, 2007 at 1:42 pm #

    Can we count The Quarterback Princess as an afterschool special?

Leave a Reply

