13 Lines from my non-fiction story

3 May

ttladywriting.jpg

13 Lines from my non-fiction story

1. Neither one of my daughter’s fathers are in the picture.

2. Delivering a baby is supposed to be one of the most exciting days in a person’s life.

3. I tried to be happy and excited.

4. All I really wanted to do was cry.

5. Entering the delivery room hammered in the truth, there would be no happily ever after for me.

6. I’d never get my virginity back.

7. I’d never get that boy, my first sex partner, back.

8. I’d never go through a pregnancy with a husband who loved me.

9. The tears flowed freely from my eyes as I relinquished my grip on my dreams.

10. Lying on the cold table, shaking and staring up at the white, paneled ceiling I thought about the African.

11. I remembered him saying, “I ought to shove you down the stairs.”

12. He’d stopped taking my phone calls and had a new girlfriend.

13. My arms were tied to the table to prevent me from moving while the doctor sliced my abdomen open and pulled my daughter out.

Other TT’ers

1. Susan
2. Just Me
3. SusieJ
4. rhian
5. SciFiChick
6. Lori
7. special k family
8. A Knight’s Lady
9. Milady Insanity
10. Our Story
11. Babysteps
12. Writing Aspirations
13. Rhonda
14. Screaming pages
15. Miss Meliss
16. Green Eyed Girl
17. Any Apples
18. Rosie

23 Responses to “13 Lines from my non-fiction story”

  1. Susan Helene Gottfried May 3, 2007 at 8:08 am #

    Whoa, Scoop! Please let that unhappiness be fiction! I want to hug you now!

    Happy TT, babe. From what I’ve seen of these lines, I’m intrigued.

  2. Donna May 3, 2007 at 8:32 am #

    Hmmmm. Very interesting.

  3. SusieJ May 3, 2007 at 8:34 am #

    Awesome list. Very moving — I can’t wait to read the book. Number 5, number 8 and 1 are especially intriguing.

  4. rhian May 3, 2007 at 8:59 am #

    This is an eyecatching line:
    I remembered him saying, “I ought to shove you down the stairs.”
    whoa. fascinating list.

  5. SciFiChick May 3, 2007 at 9:28 am #

    Very vivid lines!

  6. Lori May 3, 2007 at 9:48 am #

    Wow…what book is this? It sounds very real and horrifying.

    ryc: Get the movie for your children…my girls thought it was a real hoot.

  7. Toni May 3, 2007 at 9:50 am #

    Now I want to read more! What a tease! Looking forward to the book! 🙂

  8. scooper May 3, 2007 at 9:57 am #

    Susan- That was a long time ago and I’m discovering that writing the bad is much easier to do than writing the good.

    Donna- Thanks

    SusieJ- I was using this list as a sound off board to see if it was interesting to anyone besides me. I’m still writing it and have a long way to go before it’s finished.

    Rhian- The things people say, huh?

    Sci-fi- That was the easy part to write. Now getting it together with the better part of life should prove to be a challenge.

    Lori- I had a moment when I thought it’d be therapeutic to write about different moments in my life. Then I began to wonder if anyone besides me would find it interesting.

    I’m going to get the movie and let the girls watch it.

    Toni- Cool. If/When I complete it, I’ll definitely post about it.

  9. Lady G~ May 3, 2007 at 10:00 am #

    Some of those lines tugged at my heart. Please tell me there is a happy ending to her story…

    Thanks for visiting my TT. Hope you have a blessed Thursday.

  10. miladyinsanity May 3, 2007 at 11:00 am #

    I’d read more. You write stark and simple. I like that.

    I hope there is a happy ending, Scooper.

  11. ChupieandJsmama May 3, 2007 at 11:44 am #

    Those are some very powerful lines. I’m intrigued by your book. The lines are filled with pain and sadness and I’m sorry that isn’t fiction. Thanks for visiting me today.

  12. Babystepper May 3, 2007 at 11:45 am #

    Birth was not easy for me, and I had a loving husband by my side. I cannot imagine going through these things, and I hope that Love found this mommy.

  13. Rashenbo May 3, 2007 at 2:17 pm #

    Wow… Those are some powerful lines. There is such emotion behind them as well. I am sorry that your life was touched by so much unhappiness and turmoil.

  14. scooper May 3, 2007 at 2:53 pm #

    Lady G & Milady- That was just one point in time. I refuse to let bad things define who I am or will become. I don’t want to be the old lady who complains to anyone who will listen.

    Chupie- Life is full of ups and downs. This just happens to be one of the lower downs.

    Babystepper- My mom and friends were excellent. They were with me through all that I’d allow them to be. For the rest, well the book isn’t complete just yet and regardless to if the perfect mate is ever found the ending will be happy. I’d allow nothing less.

    Rashenbo- I like to think about it simply as, been there, done that and time to move on. Now that this is behind me, I have little to fear until my kids get older and begin dating and …okay, I’m not thinking about it anymore.

  15. Rhonda May 3, 2007 at 3:15 pm #

    Wow, is this intriguing!! Thanks for the tantalizing look at this…

  16. she May 3, 2007 at 3:17 pm #

    There is so much power and pain in these lines. I, like others, am intrigued and will await more from you on this topic – when you’re ready.

  17. MissMeliss May 3, 2007 at 3:36 pm #

    Such power and pain in those lines. It takes courage, I think, to relive such events in order to write about them.

  18. Green Eyed Girl May 3, 2007 at 3:38 pm #

    Those are very powerful lines. Let me know when it is done, I would love to read it.

  19. scooper May 3, 2007 at 4:33 pm #

    Rhonda, She, Mis Melliss, and Green eyed- Thanks. For me mood has been a major part of my writing process. Everything clicked together one night and I found myself typing away. When I finally stopped, I felt lighter than I have in years. I’m going to see where this takes me.

  20. Frigga May 3, 2007 at 7:00 pm #

    Ummm…. Happy TT13!

  21. Rosie May 4, 2007 at 3:15 am #

    Wow! Right to the heart of things and powerful.

  22. Janne May 5, 2007 at 7:40 am #

    Wow! This list left me heartbroken. Wishing you a very happy ending!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thursday Thirteen: Authors with the Title Gene/Luck « Milady Insanity - May 3, 2007

    […] Scooper’s TT–Read […]

Leave a Reply

