Stop skulking: Preferences

4 May

Memoir- “Records of events or history written from the personal knowledge or experience of the writer, or based on special sources of information.” (Oxford English Dictionary)

Biography- “A written record of the life of an individual.” (Oxford English Dictionary)

Do you have a preference of biography over memoirs or vice versa? Why?Do you think an individual can honestly write a biography of themselves? If you were to write one, which would you choose? Have you ever sat down and written your life/experience into a character of any story you were writing?

So STOP SKULKING and make your voice heard!

3 Responses to “Stop skulking: Preferences”

  1. Rosie May 4, 2007 at 1:12 pm #

    I prefer to read a memoir. I know it is a telling of a story really from that person’s perspective of their life, but frankly that’s what I’m curious about an individual’s personal life experience.

  2. Susan Helene Gottfried May 4, 2007 at 7:29 pm #

    Fiction.

    What do you mean, that’s not an option???

    My life winds up in my fiction all the time. Look over my outtakes; I can tell you what inspired some of them like Buying Chicken or This One’s For Us Girls, or even Green Hair Week (okay, that wasn’t real-life inspired) or The Soy Sauce Trilogy.

    Other people? No, thanks. This is MY fiction; you all should only read and love it.

    *wink*

  3. scooper May 9, 2007 at 11:59 am #

    Rosie- I’m with you. I prefer memoirs. I like the idea of getting the logic behind actions and the emotional aspect far more than the time line of a biography.

    Susan- Fiction is great but sometimes I need a little change and that’s when memoirs come in.(Not that I read them often.)

Leave a Reply

