Immortals: The Calling by Jennifer Ashley

21 May

Favorite Line: “You sound like a reject from a bad movie.” (9).

Book one in the Immortals series is The Calling. It introduces the reader to five brothers, descendants of the old goddesses, created to keep the balance between good and evil. Centuries past, one of the five brothers disappeared during a battle leading to the other brothers scattering across the world.

Adrian is the oldest of the Immortals and is still searching for his brother Tain. During a nightmare about Tain he hears a woman being attacked by a demon and races to the site of the disturbance. He finds Amber, a young witch searching for the truth about her sisters murder. He is just in time to save her from the demon who killed her sister and the two learn that Amber may hold the key to finding Tain.

This book has vampires and shifters and Immortals and demons. It has a ‘weirdness’ that encourages the reader to continue. Is it the greatest book ever? No, but it isn’t bad. There were moments when I felt for the hero and the hard choices he was forced to make and a very descriptive scene that grosses me out still, after having read the book two days ago. I’m very interested in reading the second installment of this series which will be written by Robin Popp and is slated to be released in June.

5 Responses to “Immortals: The Calling by Jennifer Ashley”

  1. Rosie May 21, 2007 at 11:51 am #

    I’ve seen at least two of these (I thought) in the bookstore. I’ve got so many books to read now that I think I’ll wait and watch and see what you think.

  2. scooper May 21, 2007 at 1:44 pm #

    I’m interested to see how the different authors write this storyline. Have you seen how the four covers make a big picture when put together?

  3. julia May 21, 2007 at 10:27 pm #

    I like the idea of the brothers being the balance between good and evil. Not unlike something I’m working on, myself! Ah, it’s true – there’s no new ideas under the sun… But it’s all in the delivery, thank goodness.

  4. scooper May 22, 2007 at 9:36 am #

    Julia- I know. I was thinking about that the other day. I’ve got a good idea though, that I haven’t read anything close to in many years and never in the form of a romance. Now will I ever write it? Who knows.

  5. Rosie May 23, 2007 at 4:10 am #

    No I didn’t notice that about the covers, I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

