Cover of Night by Linda Howard

23 May

Favorite Lines: “Do you think I carried you for nine months and suffered through thirty-six hours of agonizing labor to bring you into this world for you to sit on your butt? Get out there and mow that lawn. That’s what I had you for.” (49)

Cover of Night by Linda Howard was released May 1 in paperback format. The blurb sounded interesting and promising, but I was quite disappointed. The story is about a widowed mother of four-year-old twins who runs a boarding house in a remote location. One morning a male boarder climbs out of his window and is not seen again. Out of concern for his safety she calls the police to report the man’s disappearance and is basically told not to worry.

She soon realizes that she has reason to worry. A couple of men come to stay at the boarding house and thinking that Cate Nightingale knows something about the missing boarder hold Cate and her friend hostage. The situation is resolved thanks to shy handyman, Calvin Harris. Calvin sends the terrorists away not knowing that they would come back and hold the quiet town of Trail Stop, Idaho hostage.

This book was longer than it needed to be for my taste. Calvin is portrayed for a good part of the book as a shy man who can barely make eye contact with Cate. That was an immediate turn off for me. Later he blossomed into a take charge character. Cate was consumed with being a single mother. She ran a business and raised her twins while constantly dredging up the past (in her mind).

There are five other story lines taking place as well: a buddying love story between two citizens of Trail Stop, a killer seeking revenge against his boss, a man running from the mob, a country boy trying to make it to the big time, and a killer forming a working relationship with the mob. The story lines were clear but I felt as if too much was happening. The book wrapped up to cleanly and quite unbelievably. I have a hard time with the ending because the villains went to extremes to isolate the town and that seems to be disregarded by the ending.

I won’t be reading this book again. You can read the opinion of someone else that liked the book here and another book review here.

4 Responses to “Cover of Night by Linda Howard”

  1. amie stuart May 23, 2007 at 10:44 am #

    THere was another story of hers I had problems with …I can’t remember the name but the heroine was the bodyguard and the hero was a cop. It was weird–I don’t think he was alpha OR beta…he just felt real wishy-washy to me (and I used to love Howard)

  2. Tempest Knight May 23, 2007 at 10:49 am #

    I’ve never read anything from her. I was hoping to pick one of her Nocturnes.

  3. scooper May 23, 2007 at 11:10 am #

    Amie- I have Dying to Please by Howard and I loved it. (About the butler and the detective) I really don’t like the the hero that I can’t identify.

    Tempest- I haven’t read any of her Nocturnes, I too afraid after reading the last two of her novels. If you pick one up and like it let me know.

  4. Holly May 23, 2007 at 12:27 pm #

    This book drove be batty. Never in my life have I been so disappointed in a favorite author. Ugh.

    I quite enjoyed the Nocturne, although many others didn’t.

Leave a Reply

