Have you seen…

13 Jun

I was watching the Today show this morning when I heard the news about a woman missing in Florida. What makes this so important? Women disappear everyday, but this woman makes me want to help. She was a recent graduate from John Jay College of Criminal Justice who took her 16 year-old sister on vacation to Miami. She went to a nightclub and was seen getting into a dark sedan later that night. That was the last time anyone has admitted to seeing her.

Why has it taken so long for us to hear about this missing woman? You can read John Ridley’s opinion here. It makes me question the priorities of the media. Why do some people get more coverage than other people. I was even more disgusted after I read a blog that described the footage being cut from MSNBC in favor of airing Paris Hilton news. You can read about it here.

I don’t know about y’all, but I don’t care about Paris going to jail. People go to jail for making bad decisions everyday and we don’t read coverage about them. So what that her parents are rich. I’d much rather hear about a missing woman than a woman sitting in jail for violating the law.

3 Responses to “Have you seen…”

  1. Tempest Knight June 13, 2007 at 11:15 am #

    Paris thought because she was white and rich she could get away with anything. So I might be a heartless bitch for saying this, but I’m not sorry she’s back in jail.

  2. Rosie June 13, 2007 at 1:32 pm #

    I’m not sorry anyone who thinks they can give the law the finger and get away with it and definitely NOT someone who is under the influence and driving.

    Never say never, but I get burnt out on celeb bad behavior and don’t get people waiting with baited breath everyday to see what they do. Live your life for godsakes.

  3. scooper June 14, 2007 at 10:16 am #

    Tempest- I totally agree with you. I’m not sorry either.

    Rosie- It does irritate the hell out of me that celebs think they are exempt from the rules that the rest of us are forced to live by. I wonder if judges, knowing that the public is tired of it, are going to toughen up and make examples out of troubled celebs.

Leave a Reply

