Another week ends

15 Jun

Can you believe that another week is over? It seems like this week flew by. My Nalini Singh Caressed by Ice came yesterday and I spent the day reading it. It’s a great book. I’ll be posting my review next week. I’ve been adding several books to my Books Read page and linking to the reviews that I posted for Romance Designs, so check it out!

I did buy Anya Bast‘s latest release and I’ll be reading it this weekend. I’ve got two books from Cerridwen Press that I’m reading, Lady Iona’s Rebellion and Eye Witness. Those reviews will be linked to from the Books Read page. I haven’t been surfing like I normally do so I feel a little out of touch. Are there any contests being ran? Any book pimping you want to do? Feel free to post in today’s comments.

On to personal drama, well it’s not drama. My oldest is in summer school this year. I discovered that I could sign her up for enrichment classes for $15 (one benefit to being poor). She’s taking “Cooking up a Book”. The class reads a book then they make some kind of food to connect to the story. For example, they read If You Give a Mouse a Cookie then baked cookies. My daughter acted like she’d never seen cookies made before. She said, “Mom, the cookies were tiny before we put them in the oven, but when they came out they were bigger than my hand.”

They made pigs in a blanket the next day. Yesterday they made playdough and baked bread. She was highly upset that they ran out of time before she got to eat the bread. The whole way home she complained that she was starving. It was kinda funny seeing as how the girl was only at school for 3 hours and had ate as soon as she got there.

What are your kids doing this summer? Any major plans? Does your school district offer summer school? Today is dump day, lay it all out.

2 Responses to “Another week ends”

  1. Rosie June 15, 2007 at 2:32 pm #

    My kids aren’t little any more, but today is the first day of summer break for Shmoo. He’ll be a senior in high school next year.

    We are all trying to get jobs except GG. I’m still waiting for final interview with fire dept, Shmoo is frantically going on interviews looking for the “first” job and Beanie is hoping to land a job at a Wal Mart distribution thus doubling his hourly pay. Hopefully we will all have new jobs in the next couple of weeks.

  2. scooper June 15, 2007 at 3:40 pm #

    Rosie- Good luck with the job apps. I hope all of you get the positions you’re applying for.

Leave a Reply

