Can you imagine…

17 Jun

not getting help while in the hospital? I complain about the wait in my hometown, but I know that they would never allow a person to die in the waiting room like this hospital in California.

I don’t understand how 911 could be so cold in the face of frantic phone calls from the woman’s husband; he pleaded for help. I’ve heard of 911 horror stories and I must admit they scared me away from living in a large city. The example of a woman dying while waiting treatment just serves as a reinforcement for me. It tells me for all the crap that comes with living in a small city, it’s actually better when it comes to health care.

I also read that there are many areas where doctors don’t want to deliver babies because of high insurance rates. Can you imagine living in a state with few obstetric doctors? Here’s an article about it. What do you think?

5 Responses to “Can you imagine…”

  1. Susan Helene Gottfried June 17, 2007 at 4:17 pm #

    Hey, I live in one of those states with declining OBs. In fact, two of the four OBs who were in my practice when I had #2 have since left and are doing GYN only.

    It’s scary stuff, Scoop. Sadly, one of the proponents of the legislation that would keep premiums so high is the son of a prominent senator. It doesn’t look like things will improve here for awhile.

  2. Rosie June 17, 2007 at 5:48 pm #

    MLK hospital has had alot of problems and notoriety in the past couple of years, but this woman’s death is just horrible. The people in the community and employees had to fight to keep it open a couple of years ago because it is always failing inspections and accreditations. God knows what will happen now.

  3. scooper June 17, 2007 at 8:05 pm #

    Susan- It’s hard for me to imagine a place where I might not have obstetric care. I’m long past that phase in my life, but I worry for the many other women that are planning to give birth.

    Rosie- I read a little about the problems at that hospital. I would rally to keep a hospital near me, but if it was failing health evaluations it must not have been so great of a loss.

  4. Chantal July 7, 2007 at 10:12 pm #

    I think that more women should just deliver at home.
    Most preg/births are normal, and if women would get over their fear of pain and just let Dr’s take care of high risk, and midwives take care of normal, then there would be a lot less ‘traffic’ on the OB ward.

  5. scooper July 8, 2007 at 12:25 pm #

    Chantal- There is no way I’d ever want to give birth at home. I’m a sucker for pain; I don’t deal well with it. I also didn’t have any probs. with my first pregnancy until my water broke. If I hadn’t been in the hospital who knows what would have happened.

    I do think that more attention and approval should be given to midwives so that women know it IS an option.

Leave a Reply

