Disgust

22 Jun

I feel little more than disgust as I write this post. We all know that Afghanistan is far from America. I think we all know of many of the differences and similarities our cultures share. I don’t know how anyone can justify killing little girls though. I’m writing this in disgust with the Taliban who felt it necessary to drive by a girls school as it was letting out for the day and open up fire on them. Two girls were murdered in the drive buy. This is just another form of intimidation that the Taliban is using to prevent women from getting an education.

I feel so bad for the mothers who showed their bravery by allowing their daughters to brave the Taliban by going to school. I can only imagine their grief and it breaks my heart.

4 Responses to “Disgust”

  1. Rosie June 22, 2007 at 10:45 am #

    It takes your breath away doesn’t it? I don’t know if I could be that brave and let my daughters go to school.

  2. scooper June 24, 2007 at 2:04 pm #

    Rosie- For all my bluster, I don’t know either.

  3. rhian June 25, 2007 at 6:47 am #

    When I lived in Turkey as a teen, there was a great deal of anti-american sentiment and one of my scariest experiences was walking back home from the Turkish Bakery and having someone open machine gun fire as they drove by – it blew out the front glass of the bakery. Another time my sister was kidnapped when the elementary school bus was hijacked by a terrorist. The Turkish police managed to jump on board and subdue the guy after he had the kids for several hours – but that is one of my more horrific memories – waiting to find out if my sis would be okay. She was only eleven or twelve at the time.

  4. scooper June 25, 2007 at 8:07 am #

    Rhian- That sounds terrifying, both the gun fire at you and your sister’s experience. I’m so sorry you had to deal with such aggression as a child. What effect has that trauma had upon your/your sister’s life? Would you say that it had a negative impact on your willingness to travel either alone or with your family?

Leave a Reply

