I got lost

24 Jun

yesterday. It sucked so bad. I was driving home from my daughter’s tournament and managed to get lost in Indianapolis. I was in the crappiest place. When I stopped for help at a gas station, the guy hit me up for spare change. There were run down houses and empty businesses everywhere. I’ve never been so nervous as I watched the gas needed dip lower and lower. Two hours later I found my way back to the highway I needed and my three hour trip had morphed into five hours. Thank goodness the kids slept the entire time in the back seat.

4 Responses to “I got lost”

  1. T. Sue VerSteeg June 25, 2007 at 2:39 am #

    I feel your pain! I got lost in Chicago once, but I was ALONE! Freaked me out. I cried… Shhh, don’t tell anyone 😉

  2. scooper June 25, 2007 at 7:42 am #

    T. Sue- Isn’t it the worst feeling?

  3. Rosie June 25, 2007 at 12:47 pm #

    Oh, getting lost is the worst! Such a scary feeling. I always do MapQuest both ways. My husband always tells me that I can just follow the directions backwards, but I’m too paranoid.

    My sister worries about getting lost even going familiar places and keeps a stack of 3×5 cards to different places in a rubber band in her purse. She says she has no sense of direction and never remembers familiar landmarks.

    I say do what you have to do. I’m glad you got home safe and sound.

  4. scooper June 25, 2007 at 1:04 pm #

    Rosie- I usually follow my directions backwards to get home, but this time I clicked on the return home instructions and got lost. I think what got me was the instructions didn’t tell me to turn left or right at one point; it said turn North. I don’t know which way North is. Next time I’m following my directions backwards.

    I’m a landmark girl myself, so when they tear down buildings I’m in trouble. It’s funny when I go somewhere I haven’t been in awhile how amazed I get by the new buildings that have popped up.

Leave a Reply

