Witch Fire by Anya Bast

27 Jun

Favorite Line: “She’d been so stupid to quit school and rely on him financially.” (11)

Mira Hoskins is about to learn that everything she thinks she knows is wrong.  Witches and warlocks do exist and her parents didn’t die in a car crash; they were killed by warlocks. To top it all off, the warlocks who killed her parents want her because she is a powerful, untapped air witch.

Jack McAllister is sent to protect Mira from the warlocks who seek to do her harm. He is the son of the man who killed Mira’s parents. He is also the man who burns for Mira, fitting because he is a fire witch.

When the warlocks attempt to kidnap Mira, Jack steps in and takes Mira to his home for protection. He teaches Mira about her magic and when they become complacent are attacked by the warlocks again. Mira must learn to wield her magic if she is to ever be safe again.

I know that many of you have read this book. I’m hoping y’all don’t kill me for not loving it. The book was full of action (something I love) but I was bored to death. I began interested in Mira. I liked that she was a working woman and that despite being spurned for another woman she was able to continue with her life. I liked that she was spunky.

I disliked the whole mental dialogue about her sexy cousin. I felt grossed out at the references to his hotness. Honestly, I would have been ok with the story being half the length that it was. It wasn’t that the book was horrid; I just couldn’t get interested enough to care one way or another.

4 Responses to “Witch Fire by Anya Bast”

  1. Tia June 28, 2007 at 6:21 am #

    Did it manage to keep your attention, or did you just finish it for the sake of writing the review?

    Since you appear to review lots of fantasy, I’m going to link you in over at Fantasy Debut.

  2. scooper June 28, 2007 at 7:03 am #

    Tia- I don’t like to not finish books, so I slugged through it. I kept hoping that something would happen to change my mind, but it didn’t. Thanks for the link.

  3. rhian July 1, 2007 at 4:04 pm #

    EEEK! You didn’t like Witch Fire Scoops? Perfect example of how subjective reading is because it’s one of my favorites. I was riveted from beginning to end. Ah well, varied opinions keep conversations and ideas from getting boring.

  4. scooper July 1, 2007 at 5:13 pm #

    Rhian- I know. Sometimes I wonder if it’s a matter of timing. I’ve been into dark fantasy lately and it may have just been that I didn’t feel romance like I should have to enjoy the book. I also got tripped up by the wording in some of the sex scenes. It made me giggle a few times and think “Oh, no she didn’t”.

Leave a Reply

