Blood Drive by Jeanne C. Stein

29 Jun

Favorite Lines: “Then I see. His hand. Nails lengthen into claws, the palm becomes a leathery pad, and fur the color of midnight surrounds the…paw.” (47)

Anna Strong is back! This time she’s searching for a girl who might be her niece. The girl’s mother approached the Strong family for help finding her missing daughter and drops a bomb on the family that the girl is their blood relative. As usual there is more than meets the eye going on. The girl’s mom is hiding something and it has the ability to damage many people.

Anna still refuses to let go of the living and embrace the supernatural world whole heartedly. Whether she wants to or not, she will learn that there is much more in the world than she knows and she’ll come face to face with the worst in human society.

This book is different from the first book. It doesn’t fixate on sex at all. It has a tad bit, but is not obsessed with it like the first book. It’s all about the missing niece and the drama surrounding her. I found it to be extremely focused, much more so than the first book. It also gradually introduces more information about Anna. In book one we were told that she was the “one” but it was never explained. This story doesn’t completely explain it either, but we get a little bit of information about it.

Anna’s human boyfriend is still around for the same tiny amount as the first book. I still don’t see the importance of him and I hope that Ms. Stein shows me that he has a purpose. Book number three will be released in Nov. and I’m interested enough that I’ll be buying it.

5 Responses to “Blood Drive by Jeanne C. Stein”

  1. Tia June 29, 2007 at 8:42 pm #

    Do you really read this fast, or do you read a bunch of novels, blog on them, then read a bunch more?

  2. scooper June 29, 2007 at 9:04 pm #

    I’m a reader. If I had enough books I would never post on anything else. I go shopping and read until I’m done then I blog on most of the books. Usually I pick up four to six books and read them in two to three days depending on my time. I have a hard time putting down a book I’m truly interested in. Occasionally, I’ll wait a day before blogging to think about it.

  3. Jeanne C. Stein June 30, 2007 at 9:48 am #

    Thanks for reviewing my books and for your kind words. It is much appreciated!

    Jeanne

    PS Max plays a much bigger role in Book 3: The Watcher. I look forward to your comments.

  4. scooper July 1, 2007 at 5:10 pm #

    Jeanne- I’m glad. I must admit that I’ve been wondering if she’ll come clean about what happened to her and what she’s done on the side. I also wonder why Max didn’t question her partner when they worked a run together.

  5. LesleyW October 2, 2007 at 2:27 am #

    Scooper – LOL – I’m checking out your review. 🙂 We both thought the second book was stronger. I have some speculations about Max, but they’re a bit off the wall. Very interested to see where things go in Book 3.

Leave a Reply

