Mrs. Aesop’s Fables in 13 lines

12 Jul

blubutter.gif

“The Fox and the Woodcutter” from Mrs. Aesop’s Fables by Lisa Cofield and Debbie Dingerson

  1. Miss Fox and Miss Woodcutter were roommates.
  2. One Friday night they were both home, when there came a knock on the door.
  3. Miss Fox, thinking it might be her soom-to-be-ex-boyfriend, asked Miss Woodcutter to answer the door.
  4. “If it’s Hunter,” she said, “tell him I’m not here.”
  5. When Miss Woodcutter answered the door, there she found the boyfriend.
  6. “Is my girlfriend here?” he asked.
  7. “No,” replied Miss Woodcutter ina voice loud enough for her roommate to hear.
  8. Making sure she was behind the door so Miss Fox couldn’t see her, she winked and pointed in toward the bedroom.
  9. Hunter, thinking the woman was making a pass at him said, “Sorry, lady, I’m a one-woman man,” and promptly left.
  10. When Miss Fox came out, Miss Woodcutter said, “I got rid of him.
  11. Aren’t you going to thank me?”
  12. Miss Fox replied, “I saw you winking and pointing at the bedroom.
  13. Either you were trying to tell him I was here, or you were making a pass at him.
  14. Either Way, I’m not going to thank you.”

Moral: There is as much mischief in a wink as in a word.

  1. Chicken
  2. Nobody
  3. Around
  4. West
  5. Diagonally
  6. Our Seven
  7. Books
  8. Real 
10 Responses to “Mrs. Aesop’s Fables in 13 lines”

  1. Christine July 12, 2007 at 12:50 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my site. This is a great idea for a TT and I also love the fable. I had a community relations manager at work wink at me throughout an entire meeting at work – made me very uncomfortable.

  2. Rosie July 12, 2007 at 2:29 am #

    cute

  3. Robin July 12, 2007 at 3:57 am #

    Very cute.

    Happy TT, and thanks for stopping by my blog.

  4. Susan Helene Gottfried July 12, 2007 at 9:07 am #

    Nicely done, Scoop! That rocks!

  5. m.o.M July 12, 2007 at 12:03 pm #

    Super job! Thanks! wink wink

  6. qtpies7 July 12, 2007 at 2:47 pm #

    That’s funny! Shame on her, either way!

  7. Lisa July 12, 2007 at 9:14 pm #

    This is my first visit to your blog, I LOVE your header!

    Happy Thursday, my list is up too!

  8. Amy July 12, 2007 at 10:56 pm #

    hahaha that’s funny!

  9. Jen July 12, 2007 at 11:51 pm #

    Now who have pegged Ms. Woodcutter as a winker, I would have thought Ms. Fox would be the winker. Cute idea for a 13!

    Thank you for stopping by. Love the books header and always like book blogs for ideas.

  10. scooper July 13, 2007 at 10:24 am #

    Thanks for stopping by everyone. Lisa, I’m glad you like the header. Jen, I know. I thought I’d written it wrong when I was rereading it before posting. Just goes to show you can’t judge a woman by her name.

Leave a Reply

