In Darkness Reborn by Alexis Morgan

13 Jul

Favorite Lines: ” No one had ever told her how very human the Others looked-or that one could be so handsome.” (24)

Barak q’Young is an Other. He is from a different plane of life, part of an alien race that is trying to commingle with earthlings. He is trying to follow the trail of valuable blue stones that are being removed from his land. In his world the stones are a source of light. It is unknown what the value is in the land of humans. Alone in a world where he is reviled for being different, Barak finds companionship in his new co-worker.

Lacey Sebastian is the sister to a Paladin. She is also a geologist who has just had an Other foisted upon her. Determined to make him work for his keep, she soon becomes enthralled by him. She doesn’t see him in the same light as other people do. She sees him as a man. Soon the two become close but circumstances have them hiding their relationship behind closed doors.

Barak was introduced in Dark Protector now we get to know what he really thinks in In Darkness Reborn. I like the world of the Paladins but I was unsure how I’d feel about Barak’s story. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I like that Ms. Morgan allowed Barak to be an alpha despite being labeled as a whippin’ dog. He put up with abuse, yet seemed to have a limit to what he’d deal with. I also loved the fact that he refused to live his life with Lacey in the dark.

I didn’t like what I learned about Dr. Laurel Young in this book. I was led to believe that she loved Barak and was a best friend to him. Seeing how much she wasn’t in tune with him was disappointing to me. I couldn’t believe that she never noticed his sadness or his dissatisfaction with his new job. She was portrayed as being happy to be rid of him because she put up no protest to his departure. She was pretty much oblivious to what was taking place around her and it’s implied she does this because of the pressure she’s been put under due to being his friend.

I didn’t really get the shift in the Paladins from hating Barak’s guts to accepting him. I really didn’t care about it as I read the book though. It wasn’t until a couple of weeks later that I began to wonder about it.

The secret behind the blue stones still hasn’t been resolved and is starting to get on my nerves. I want to know more about the stones and I just might get my wish in book four, Redeemed in Darkness. This book was a quick read for me. It wasn’t enthralling but I enjoyed it and will read the next installment when it is released.

4 Responses to “In Darkness Reborn by Alexis Morgan”

  1. Rosie July 13, 2007 at 9:43 am #

    I have this book and have been stalling to read it for the same reason as you: I’m not sure I want to read a story about an ‘Other’. At least you put my mind to rest about that one.

  2. scooper July 13, 2007 at 10:19 am #

    Rosie- Make sure you come back and tell me what you think about Dr. Young after you read this book. The next book is about Barak’s sister and takes place in the Other’s world. I’m feeling my hesitation return but I know that I’ll read it.

  3. Holly July 13, 2007 at 3:56 pm #

    I’ve been seeing these books and have considered buying them a time or two, but I’m just not in the mood for paranormal or fantasy at the moment.

    Maybe later.

    Good review, though.

  4. scooper July 13, 2007 at 6:43 pm #

    I understand Holly. I go through phases too. I’m stuck in fantasy/paranormal. There’s just something about them that has sucked me in. (No pun intended.)

Leave a Reply

