Do you ever…

23 Jul

pick up a book because it sounds good, but then decide that you really don’t want to read it? I have a bad habit of this. My latest pick up regret was Erica Spindler’s Last Known Victim. I wanted to read it until I had it in my hand. Then it took me a week to begin reading it. I read the first three chapters, and while they were good, I still had no enthusiasm for the book.

Last night I decided it’s now or never (which really wasn’t an option) and made the plunge. The book was great! It had enough whodunit to enthrall me and that’s not even mentioning the wacked out  ending. I’m giving this book a thumbs up. I didn’t realize the detective in it was the sister to the victim in See Jane Die. (Not that it matters; it’s just interesting to see the subtle tie-in. If you didn’t read Jane’s story, don’t worry the book mentions her name in passing.)

I’ll be writing my review for it to be posted at Romance Designs this week and just wanted to give it a shout out here first. Last Known Victim will be released in October.

3 Responses to “Do you ever…”

  1. T. Sue VerSteeg July 23, 2007 at 4:30 pm #

    Ugh, I am horrible about picking a book up and something making me put it down, then hearing a rave review about it! My biggest problem now is seeing all these books (and hearing about them here) and not having any time left to read! I know, pooooooooor Toni 🙂

  2. Rosie July 23, 2007 at 6:06 pm #

    Man, I do that all the time! I’ve found I have moods for different sorts of books and when I’m in the right mood will devour several of the same type of book. Most recently it was westerns.

    The nice surprise is going back to a book you put down and giving it another try and having it send you to the moon. I love when that happens.

  3. scooper July 26, 2007 at 9:51 pm #

    Toni- Not having time sucks, huh? Well maybe when you finish “Click” you’ll have a little bit of reading time.

    Rosie- I know what you mean! I bet if you were given a paranormal with rave reviews from your favorite author, you’d still put it down because it wasn’t a western. Moods are something, huh?

Leave a Reply

