Shopping

25 Jul

When I worked at my old job (before I went back to school) I used to shop compulsively. If I wanted it, I bought it. I was really bad about clearance shelves. There is just something about getting a $100 comforter for $20 that makes me happy.

Two years ago I bought an expensive maroon comforter. I put it away thinking that when I moved I’d pull it out and  I’d have a new look for my bedroom in a new place. Guess what? I still haven’t moved. So, last night I finally opened it up and began using it.

My question is, if you get it on sale but never use it, is it still a great buy?

3 Responses to “Shopping”

  1. Rosie July 25, 2007 at 9:17 pm #

    Hell yes it’s still a great buy! I accumulated matching stuff for my kitchen for about 3 years…no lie. When we finished remodeling I put out all the new stuff. I still loved it remembered every sale and piece I saved for.

    I’m all about the happy. If it makes you happy to be using the new comforter, then by all means snuggle right up. Use it, love it, remember the bargain!

  2. T. Sue VerSteeg July 26, 2007 at 8:24 pm #

    That is so funny, Rosie! That is exactly what I thought when I read this: Hell yeah! 🙂 (can I get a little Gretchen Wilson background music for my post??) A bargain is a bargain sweets. Even one that sits in your closet until you can use it or give it as a gift.

  3. scooper July 26, 2007 at 9:48 pm #

    Rosie- It felt really good bringing a new comforter out, I think you’re right. The good feeling gets bigger when I think of the savings I got on it.

    Toni- I’ve been known to use a bargain buy for a gift and it does feel good. Giving an expensive gift that I got for a portion of the price the recipient thinks.

Leave a Reply

