Exhausted

4 Aug

I’m exhausted. When I read a series I buy all of the books so that I can go from book to book. I’ve never read Michelle Sagara before and decided to buy just one book so that I wouldn’t be mad if I didn’t like her style of writing. Well, I love it. I started it Thursday night and stayed up until 3:30 in the morning finishing book one in her Cast series. I couldn’t stop thinking about it and by 10 a.m. I was headed to Borders to get the other two books in the series. By the end of Friday book two was done and by 4 p.m. today book three was done.

Now the books are pretty lengthy (400 – 500 pages) but damn they are great! I can’t believe that I have to wait until next year to get another book. I’m even going to go so far and say they are the best books I’ve read in a long time. Better than all the books on my keeper shelf right now. I’m officially a fan girl. The world building is amazing, the characterizations are mesmerizing.  I feel almost lost that I don’t have anymore of her books to read.

Next week I plan to start reviewing: Books 1-3 in Michelle Sagara’s Cast series, Keri Arthur’s latest, Christina Dodd’s latest, Gabriel’s Ghost, ect…

4 Responses to “Exhausted”

  1. LesleyW August 5, 2007 at 4:47 am #

    I have Book 1 of the Cast series in my TBR pile but I haven’t yet got round to reading it. From memory I had a problem getting into it when I first started and put it back on the pile. Your comments make me want to dig it out and give it another try.

    What I have started reading is her Sundered series which I have all four books of. Though it’s more a traditional fantasy, but very dark.

  2. scooper August 5, 2007 at 10:30 am #

    I remember the first 90 pages of all the books being the hardest. After those pages, it was like I had dove off a waterfall and was being swept along with the water. The world building is so complete that I’m almost afraid to pick up another book right now. It’s like the standard has risen again for me. I don’t want to compare different worlds to Sagara’s world in kingdom of Elantra.

  3. LesleyW August 5, 2007 at 2:04 pm #

    I know how that feels.

    There’s a certain book I have a tendency to go on about. But I read it at the beginning of this year and it made me raise the bar for what I expect to get out of a book.

    It’s a brilliant feeling when that happens but it can also leave you with a sense of deflation. As you need time to mentally digest I think. It was at least two weeks before I read anything new, instead I stuck to old favourites.

  4. scooper August 5, 2007 at 2:38 pm #

    Lesley- It makes me hunger for more. I not only want more books in the series, but I want more books made like it. I don’t think I can do justice to the world building that has taken place. I feel like I’ve been given a nibble of a brownie and am salivating for more bites.

Leave a Reply

