What to do…

13 Aug

There is nothing better than a good book. I love a book that takes off running and ends with a bang. What do I hate? I hate books that make me excited to read them and then fizzle out. I mean the kind of book that make me say, “Damn, that is crazy” in the beginning but at the end I sigh and close the book torn between irritation and disappointment.

This happened to me today when I read my first Nocturne book by Karen Whiddon. I don’t even want to blog about the book because I don’t know what to say about the lack-luster feeling I got upon completing it. Have you read any books like that lately? Do you ever blog about the books that make you feel that way?

6 Responses to “What to do…”

  1. LesleyW August 14, 2007 at 8:26 am #

    LOL – unfortunately the short answer is yes.

    Just one recently, and I did blog about it. Mainly to save anyone who knows they like the same books I do, from reading it. Well maybe two, but the other I’m holding judgement until I read the second book in the series.

    It used to happen to me much more often, when if someone recommended I buy a book I just would. Now unless it’s someone who I know my tastes really match with. I check out the author’s website – looking for blurbs, chapter excerpts. I look for blog reviews – especially blog reviews I know will tell it like it is – Dear Author, Smart Bitches. I do look at Amazon reviews but I feel they tend to be biased either gushy or overly antagonistic.

    When I blog I try to explain how the book made me feel. And if it did disappoint me in any way, why it did. I also think for the most part you can find something positive to say about most books even if they weren’t for you.

    I don’t blog about a book if I haven’t read it properly – skim read. Because I think that isn’t fair to the author. If I was reading a book properly and just couldn’t finish it because it was so bad…I’d probably blog about that. But usually I make an effort to finish.

  2. Tia August 14, 2007 at 10:44 am #

    At Fantasy Debut, I commit myself to writing about the book ahead of time, so I’m really careful about the books that I pick. I make sure it is not something that I know that I won’t like, such as about a soul-selling protagnist. So far, I have not hated any book that I’ve blogged about, and I have not reached the point where I was unwilling to finish reading it.

    We’ll see if I continue to be so lucky!

  3. T. Sue VerSteeg August 14, 2007 at 12:19 pm #

    I have never been so glad to see someone else’s name mentioned as I was reading your post. I thought maybe you had finally decided to put something up about me! 🙂

    Anyhow, my answer is a huge, resounding, “Oh yeah!” Those are the worst kind of books to read. I would rather read something entirely ‘eh’ throughout, than to be hyped and excited and come to a screeching halt at the end only to scratch my head and say, “wtf?”

  4. scooper August 14, 2007 at 6:35 pm #

    Lesley- I rarely read harlequin books because of this feeling. I don’t know if I’m going to blog this book just because I’m not feeling it sooo much.

    Tia- I’ve blogged about books I’ve been disappointed in. If I don’t have a major reaction to a particular book, I don’t blog it. You’ve been pretty lucky and I’m hoping your luck holds out.

    Toni- You know better than that! I feel the same way about blah books.

  5. Susan Helene Gottfried August 14, 2007 at 8:42 pm #

    Nope, I don’t blog about it because I don’t want some author seeing me trash their book! Yes, I’m a WUSS like that, but really, it stays in the back of my head that their response would be, “At least mine is published, bitch.”

    And they do have a point…

    In other news, want to join me in some Trevor-like fun next week??? Drop me an e-mail if you want to know more…

  6. what time period is mannerist art August 15, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Anytime I study a topic I’ve no idea what i may find. I’m so very happy to have found your thorough blogging since it perfectly covers the doubts I have in mind and also the unmentioned questions which i would’ve looked for later.

Leave a Reply

