Queen of the Orcs: Clan Daughter by Morgan Howell

4 Sep

Favorite Lines: “She had never heard of a man doing such a thing. He’s not a man. Then she felt Kovak-mah’s tongue between her legs. She had never experiences such pleasure in her life.” (80)

This is book two in the Queen of the Orcs series. Book one was a breath of fresh air. Book two continues in the same fashion, sort of. Many of the things that I began to believe in book one were shown to not quite be true in this book. Orcs are capable of much more than I gave them credit for in book one.

Meeting the matriarchs of the Orcs was eyebrow raising. For me, it proved that females are the same no matter where they live or what race they are from. You have the trust worthy ones and the ones that are a tad bit trifling.

Relationships keep popping up where I never thought they were possible and idiots just keep on coming. I had to re-read a section of the book to make sure that I read what I thought I did. This book is very different from book one. Book one was grittier than this one.

This book follows the Orcs home life. It shows what is important to the female Orcs and how the title of Queen is passed along. It is a journey to a title. It is not a let down after book one, but it did leave me wondering why DEL REY chose to publish in three separate books instead of creating one large novel. (I’m assuming money.)

While the books are sold separate, you cannot read book two without reading book one. It is not a stand alone book. The book continues immediately where book one ends. If I had to give advice about this book, I’d advise waiting for book three to be released so that you can have all three books when you sit down to read.

You can pick up book two in the series here. Book three will be released at the end of September.

4 Responses to “Queen of the Orcs: Clan Daughter by Morgan Howell”

  1. LesleyW September 4, 2007 at 2:50 pm #

    I think you find sometimes when the first book has a big impact. It leaves the second with a lot to do.

    Looking forward to getting my hands on these in October. 🙂

  2. video moda September 5, 2007 at 1:26 am #

    Interesting article. Gave pleasure.

  3. scooper September 5, 2007 at 8:25 am #

    Lesley- I know that is often true, but book two holds its own. It just continues on where book one left off. It def. is separate from book one; I see that it should be called book two, only I believe that they should have been packaged together as a big fat trade book.

  4. Tia September 6, 2007 at 5:29 am #

    I’m in the middle of book one. I’ve read series before that continue where the first one left off. It used to bother me, but I sort of expect it now. I guess I have ARS (Abused Reader Syndrome)?

    Anyway, your favorite line is rather cringeworthy.

Leave a Reply

