Immortals: The Gathering by Jennifer Ashley

5 Sep

Favorite Lines: “Everyone needs something. Goals, dreams, other people. A purpose.” (p. 40)

Hunter was feeding a cat at his latest lovers’ home when he was magically yanked out and dumped in a lion’s cage on a small island. That island is where tainted witch, Leda Stowe, lives and works.

Seeing a strange man in her lion’s cage rattled Leda and sensing the strong life magic he weld encouraged her to shoot him with a tranquilizer. It took little energy for Hunter to read and offer to remove the taint from Leda, and thus began their journey together for life magic is being sucked out of existence.

Hunter is one of five men, who together, can stop the darkness from prevailing. Will they hide away on the island or risk all to find the source of the darkness?

Out of all of the books in the series (there are four) this was my favorite. I know that the first book had to set up the other books, but it was more gruesome than any of the others. (Granted I didn’t read book three.) Book one had detailed information about a man being skinned alive. Book two disappointed me, so I was pleased to return to Jennifer Ashley in book four.

Hunter is an extremely sexual man. It’s something that is introduced on the first page and it plays throughout the book. Leda is borderline TSTL. She tinkers in places that she isn’t supposed to more than once. She knows that she isn’t as strong as the Immortals, but runs to the action anyways. I really didn’t care about Leda, but I cared about the story. I wanted to know what was going to happen next. I cared about the ending enough that I paid $7 for the book. (I think that says a lot.) I would be happier with this book if I paid half of the price.

At the end of the book I was left wanting one more story. I can’t tell you who, but I’m hoping that you’ll be able to tell. After you read it let me know. If you happen to stumble across this lowly blog Ms. Ashley, please write one more book for me. You know the one or you should because I felt like you set the story up quite well for one or two more books.

2 Responses to “Immortals: The Gathering by Jennifer Ashley”

  1. LesleyW September 5, 2007 at 11:32 am #

    Nothing to do with the books and I realize this is a really stupid reason not to buy a book. But I really don’t like the covers, I didn’t like the Allyson James one either, that you reviewed a few days ago. (Hope I’ve spelt her name right, I’m going from my appalling memory.)

    I find something quite offputting about them. Are they from the same publisher? Maybe it’s because they’re so pink?

  2. scooper September 15, 2007 at 12:29 pm #

    I was the opposite. I thought it was cool the way all four books combined to make a big picture. I’ll have to check out the publishers.

Leave a Reply

