Protective Confinement by Cassie Miles

7 Sep

Favorite Lines: “The aftereffects of the drugs he’d been feeding her had distorted her perceptions, while at the same time, sharpening her senses.” (p. 33)

 

Dr. Cara Messinger has become the obsession of a serial killer, but wants nothing more than to forget about her captivity. FBI agent Dash Adams is able to show Cara that the killer will return and persuades her to accept government protection.

Living in the safe house, Cara begins to feel safe again, until she learns that the killer is still stalking her. He plays upon Cara’s fears without realizing that she now has Dash to support her. Cara and Dash soon become close as the killer closes in, but will they be able to survive the killer’s attention?

I’ve mentioned it before but I’ll mention it again. I haven’t loved Harlequin books for a long time; not since growing up and discovering more complex story lines. I’ve felt for many years that the books close in an unrealistic manner. I’m pleased to say this book is different. I was not disappointed with the ending of this book.

What did I feel? I was reminded of Kiss the Girls. A killer breaks into a womans home, a fight ensues in the home and the killer leaves with the woman in tow. That is where the similarities end. Protective Confinement is a romance. It is suspense at a quick pace with a little twist that appeased the inner critic and made me satisfied with the book.

Will I re-read the book? No. It was a pleasant read, but not anything substantial. It was not an emotional read, nor was it electrifying. It was a nice book, but not a keeper.

Do I recommend it? I don’t know. That’s a tough question because it was well written and there is nothing wrong with it. It boils down personal preference. I’m glad I took the time to read it, as it’s something different from what I’ve been reading lately.

It won’t kill you to read it, either. So, if you like books set in the West or suspense or are looking for a book that is engaging check out Protective Confinement by Cassie Miles.

Leave a Reply

