Lover Unbound by J.R. Ward

8 Oct

Favorite Lines: ” Terrrific. A bisexual dominant vampire with kidnapping experience.” (p. 228)

Dr. Jane Whitcomb is on duty when a man is brought in with a gunshot and stab wound. She is amazed by the man. He is like no other that she has operated on. Not long after completing his surgery, a small group of men enter the hospital and take her patient and her away. 

Vishous can see death. He knows how all of his friends die and has been viewing his own death for quite awhile. To top off a horrible existence, he has finally met his mother (after 300 years) only to discover that she is the person he has always prayed to.

His mother arrives to usher V into a new lifestyle; a lifestyle that he wants no part of. It’s unfortunate that this is the same night that he finds his mate, Dr. Jane.

My favorite lines does a great job of giving an abbreviated description of Vishous. It leaves out that he was abused and an outcast but for a quick sum, it does its work. I must admit that I cheated with this book. I read many reviews from outraged bloggers and had my cousin tell me what happened.

I was pissed. I couldn’t believe what she said; then I borrowed her her copy and read it. It was alright. It’s not my favorite book out of the series, but I’ll still read them. Though I’ll never buy them in hardback.

I’m not exactly thrilled that Vishous is bisexual. (It’s not my personal preference.) He is into sexual games but capable of much more than even he thinks. I, like many others, didn’t care for the sexual innuendo that flowed between V and Butch, but I got over it.

I liked Jane. I liked the witty banter between the two main characters and wish that much more time was given to the lovers. This book reminded me, slightly, of Christine Feehan’s Dark Celebration because of all the action that takes place besides the main story.

There is the continuation of John’s story, an introduction to Manny, problems with a pregnancy, problems with a brother’s mental state and much more. It is a busy book, but enjoyable. I wouldn’t give this book to a person who is uninitiated to Ward’s books. In comparison to her other books this book hands down, is my least favorite. I did not like the ending. What did you think about it?

7 Responses to “Lover Unbound by J.R. Ward”

  1. LesleyW October 8, 2007 at 11:36 am #

    I am planning on reviewing this one at some point this week.

    I didn’t mind V’s bisexuality, or his banter with Butch. John Matthew is my favourite character so I love that we got to spend so much time with him. When I look back at the book it isn’t V and Jane that first spring to mind and considering it’s meant to be V’s book I don’t think that’s a good thing.

    I didn’t like the ending.

    I still prefer it ahead of Lover Revealed though.

  2. Kimberly Swan October 8, 2007 at 7:50 pm #

    It took me a few minutes to remember the ending (it’s been a few months since I read it), and it just hit me…When I read it I was really shocked, but I have to admit that it was a creative twist. There’s definitely a lot going on with more than just Vishous and Jane, so I agree that it would be difficult as a stand-alone. What I enjoyed the most was learning about V’s past and understanding his emotional state better. 🙂

  3. scooper October 8, 2007 at 10:59 pm #

    Lesley- I prefer Lover Revealed’s ending to this book’s ending.

    Kimberly- It definitely took a twist alright. I don’t like that it strays from being Vishous’ book to being everybody’s story. I also enjoyed his past and the understanding that came with it.

  4. katie October 14, 2007 at 1:22 am #

    I picked this one up today but I’m not sure when I will be able to start it. I haven’t read any of the other books in the series… and from what I can tell from all the other reviews online at least the only way to go from this one is up. I’ll have to come back once I’ve read it. Thanks for the review.

  5. scooper October 15, 2007 at 9:53 am #

    Katie- Yep, come back and let us know what you think about it. It was not my favorite and I agree with the other people who think the next book will make or break the series for me personally.

  6. katie October 16, 2007 at 10:34 am #

    I just finished and I loved it. But then I haven’t read the rest of them. But I will now. I’m going today to buy the first in the series.

    The ending was odd though. The whole weird ghost thing was… just odd. I enjoyed it for the most part, there was a ton of stuff going on and she really made you want to turn pages.

  7. scooper October 16, 2007 at 12:20 pm #

    Katie- The book is entertaining and that’s the point, but that WTF moment is startling and irritating at first. I must admit that I’m over it now. The book was okay, but when comparing it to the other books she wrote in the series…it doesn’t fare as well IMO.

Leave a Reply

