ARC’s after release

10 Oct

I feel like I’ve asked this before, but I can’t find a post about it. After you’ve read an ARC what do you do with it? The ones I really enjoyed, I’ll buy a copy of.

Is it okay to give ARC’s away to other people? Can I raffle them off or is that wrong? I’m interested in knowing what others do with their ARC’s.

7 Responses to “ARC’s after release”

  1. Holly October 10, 2007 at 3:58 pm #

    Ahh, the big ARC debate. It all depends on your perspective, I guess. Personally, I wouldn’t give away/sell an ARC.

    I guess I look at is as an honor when I receive one. To ensure I get more *g* I read and happily review them, but don’t ship it off afterwards.

    And yes, if I like it enough, I buy a copy later, too.

  2. Tia October 10, 2007 at 7:59 pm #

    I have a galley copy of HOT MAMA by Jennifer Estep that I will probably replace. Galleys are kind of . . . well, icky. But everything else I’ve received have been the actual bookstore copies, and I certainly don’t need two.

  3. scooper October 10, 2007 at 9:06 pm #

    I’m torn. I’m pleased to get the ARC, do not doubt it. But when I buy my copy I don’t want to have two of the same books. I would never sell them and throwing it away, well that’s not gonna happen. That leaves giving it away. I think that if I wait until the book is out for sale it should be okay, right?

  4. Kimberly Swan October 10, 2007 at 11:15 pm #

    I have a collection of ARCs/Galleys too, and I just keep saving them. I remember someone saying once that she donated her ARCs to a local women’s shelter, which I think is an awesome idea. I’d ask the author or publicist who sent it just to be sure it’s alright, but someplace like a shelter would really appreciate it.

  5. Rosie October 11, 2007 at 3:03 am #

    I’m pretty much on the same page as Holly. I’ve only received a handful and about half of them are signed by the author as well, so I’m saving them.

  6. katie October 16, 2007 at 10:37 am #

    I keep mine for the most part. Or pass them along to friends but I don’t sell them or give them away on my blog. But for the most part the ARC’s I get are books I’ve been dying to read anyway so I don’t mind them hanging around once I’ve finished them.

  7. scooper October 16, 2007 at 12:22 pm #

    Katie- I wonder what authors think about this? I’ve seen them being sold on ebay, one for $80, and I wouldn’t give them away on my blog either.

    I don’t know who I’d give them to, it was just a wandering thought.

Leave a Reply

