Books that aren’t keepers

16 Oct

What do you do with them? I seem to be on a quest this month. I want to know people’s opinions about books. I hate giving stuff to Goodwill and the homeless shelter because they sell the stuff. I want to give books to someone or place that loves books as much as I do. I want them to pass the books to someone else that might not be able to purchase the book, but loves to read.

I thought about the library and it’s still an option. They tell you right up front though that they may keep it or sell it, depending on what they feel their borrowers preferences may be.

So I  pose the question: Where can I donate books that won’t sell them?

12 Responses to “Books that aren’t keepers”

  1. Holly October 16, 2007 at 1:55 pm #

    There really isn’t a place, that I know of. Unless you donate them to a friend or someone you know who loves to read, chances are, no matter where you send them, they’re going to be sold.

    Although, you could donate them to a Used Book Store or a Library. Though they still sell them, it’s more likely someone who loves to read will get them.

    And a lot of Used Book Stores will give you credit towards books if you donate to them. Which means more books for you at a lesser price. Win/Win, right?

    I just keep all my books, even the ones I hated. LOL But I’m neurotic like that.

  2. Susan Helene Gottfried October 16, 2007 at 1:58 pm #

    I trade books online for just this reason — give people something they want and get something new for yourself.

    Libraries are good places, sure. Around here, there’s a food bank that takes books in good shape; they give them out with the food. I really like that.

    You might need to look around, call around, ask around. Try churches, especially for kids’ books (somehow, I doubt you have many of those). Sniff around online; I’ve heard of prisons, libraries that are too poor to afford their own new books, and people in flooded areas who need books to help rebuild their libraries.

    Good luck!!!!

  3. scooper October 16, 2007 at 6:57 pm #

    Holly- I’ve got over $800 for the local used bookstore. I can’t spend it all no matter how hard I try.

    Susan- I think I’ll try the prisons and search for poor libraries. Thanks.

  4. Tia October 16, 2007 at 9:33 pm #

    I actually don’t mind if Goodwill sells them. It’s all for a good cause, it keeps disabled workers employed (a cause near and dear to my heart) and someone will pick it up, cheap.

  5. scooper October 17, 2007 at 8:47 am #

    Tia- I don’t like Goodwill because my aunt worked there and told me about some of the practices, such as throwing stuff away. I also don’t care for their prices. I remember going there when I was pregnant to buy work shirts. I had been to Target the night before and bought two shirts, when I went to Goodwill they had the same shirts for $5 more. It had a huge, negative impact on my impression of Goodwill.

  6. Kimberly Swan October 17, 2007 at 9:32 am #

    I’ve donated a few bags full of romances that I’ve bought (and would probably never read again) to retirement communities. They usually have their own little ‘library’. 🙂

  7. Rosie October 17, 2007 at 7:03 pm #

    Scoop, there are lots of over 55 apartment complexes that usually have a small library where you could donate as well as assisted living places where people have fixed incomes and can’t afford books.

    Hospitals sometimes have reading carts and are looking for donations also our homeless shelter and womens shelters will take books.

    Most places take books in limited numbers and (usually) want fairly current stuff because they have a limited amout of space for it.

  8. Rene Lyons October 18, 2007 at 4:03 pm #

    Hi Scooper. I just started a foundation in my brotjher’s name to donate books to drug rehabs and hospitals. Here’s the link to the page on my site:

    http://www.renelyons.net/anthonyferrisifoundation.html

    And you can email me at : rene@renelyons.net for information on where to send the books if you’d like to donate them to this charity.
    🙂

    Renee

  9. Sue October 18, 2007 at 7:21 pm #

    You can also send them overseas to the female soldiers, but there again, they probably won’t make it back to the states. I do know that they are itchin’ for some good reads right now though!

  10. scooper October 18, 2007 at 9:04 pm #

    Kimberly, Rosie and Sue – All of these are good ideas and places to donate. I think I’ll look into spreading them around to the different places.

    Rene- I love the idea of your foundation and plan on shipping books to you. I’m going to blog about you tomorrow.

  11. Chantal October 21, 2007 at 6:53 pm #

    Good question. Personally, I just sell them on eBay or give them away to friends.

  12. scooper October 21, 2007 at 7:01 pm #

    Chantal- For awhile I sold mine on amazon. But often was left with older books that no one wanted (at least in the 3 months they were listed). I love the idea of giving to the Farissi Foundation.

Leave a Reply

