A home for books

19 Oct

Over the course of the week, I asked questions about what to do with books I didn’t want to keep. I received excellent suggestions: giving them to Goodwill, used bookstores, nursing homes, libraries and hospitals. The winner, in my eyes, is a foundation that Rene Lyons, author of the Templar series, suggested and started in honor of her deceased brother.

It’s the Anthony Ferrisi Foundation. Here is the information that I took from the webpage dedicated to the foundation.

The Anthony Ferrisi Foundation is a non-profit organization that accepts book donations for drug rehabilitation facilities and hospitals all over the country. Our goal is to provide the beauty and enjoyment of the written word to those who need it most.

Anyone can donate. Publishers, authors, readers….please help us rebuild lives one book at a time by donating your new or used books. All genres are needed, from biographies to romance.

Contact Ms. Lyons for further information at rene@renelyons.net.

9 Responses to “A home for books”

  1. katie October 19, 2007 at 10:23 am #

    that is such a great idea. I hadn’t heard of it before but the next time I’ve got a few books to pass on this will be what I do.

  2. scooper October 19, 2007 at 10:40 am #

    Katie- I love that it’s different and kind of ‘the gift that keeps giving’ idea.

  3. Susan Helene Gottfried October 19, 2007 at 11:37 am #

    Good. I’m glad you guys found each other. I was too swamped to do more than I did and I was afraid I’d done too little. Maybe I did and you guys found each other on your own. I don’t know. Don’t really care, so long as everyone’s happy.

    I need that lift today. Thanks.

  4. Cecily October 19, 2007 at 11:54 am #

    I have a shelf full of books that I would so LOVE to donate! Thanks for the information, I will most certainly check it out!

  5. Rene Lyons October 19, 2007 at 12:28 pm #

    Thank you so much for this post! Any help in getting the word out about this foundation is extremely welcome.

    Katie, my husband and I have only just started it. Once the books come in we’ll deliver them, first to local drug rehabilitation facilities, then begin shipping them to rehabs and hospitals all over the country.

    Again, Scooper, thank you.

  6. scooper October 19, 2007 at 12:36 pm #

    Susan- Your idea was fine and I appreciate you taking the time to even offer something. I’m happy and I hope things pick up your way.

    Cecily- Isn’t it a great idea? I really want to push this so that word gets out.

    Rene- I’m the one who should be thanking you. I wanted a place like this to donate to, and you filled that void.

  7. Kimberly Swan October 19, 2007 at 5:03 pm #

    What a wonderful way to remember someone, and a terrific way to help get people back on their feet during such a difficult battle. 🙂

  8. scooper October 21, 2007 at 12:44 pm #

    Kimberly- I’m with you. It’s better than a memorial brick any day.

  9. Rosie October 21, 2007 at 11:10 pm #

    Good info. Thanks Rene and thanks Scoop for getting the word out.

Leave a Reply

