Queen of Orcs: Royal Destiny by Morgan Howell

24 Oct

Favorite Lines: “You gave me joy, and I’ve repaid you with sorrow.” (p.394)

Dar has become the Queen of the Orcs and survived the poison that threatened her life. But the bones have survived also; the evil that threatened her in books one and two is still alive. Not only is she faced with a great mystical evil, she must prove herself to the matriarchs of the Orc people while staving off an invasion by the humans.

This book felt different than the first two. The first book showcased the evil within humanity. Book two showed that the Orcs may not be exactly what Dar thought. Book three exposes the horror of magic. (An image of the crypt keeper kept popping up in my mind.)

I hated the human Queen. She was stereotypical, wishy-washy and ignorant. I realize that there would be no story if she were smart, but damn it she is TSTL. I also didn’t get sucked into this book as quickly as the previous two.

I don’t know if it’s the treachery shown by the female Orcs that I was turned off by or knowing that Dar would have to decide between two possible love interests. I was slightly surprised by all the tough decisions that Dar was forced to make. She has not only her future to decide but that of all Orcs.

The way the book climaxed was great. I didn’t like the way evil left however. It seemed pretty…Blah. Like ho-hum, that’s it?

I hope that after you’ve read the book you’ll stop in so that we can talk in the comments, as I don’t like to give spoilers. Overall, I enjoyed this conclusion to the Queen of the Orcs trilogy.

9 Responses to “Queen of Orcs: Royal Destiny by Morgan Howell”

  1. LesleyW October 24, 2007 at 10:37 am #

    I’ve recieved the first book in the trilogy, and it’s currently at the top of my TBR pile. I’m very much looking forward to reading these books.

  2. scooper October 25, 2007 at 12:26 am #

    Lesley- I did enjoy the series and I especially like that there is a definite ending by the conclusion of book three.

  3. katie October 26, 2007 at 10:42 am #

    I haven’t read them but I’ve seen a lot of reviews on them lately. After reading them all would you recommend them? Or did the final book bring the whole series down?

  4. scooper October 26, 2007 at 12:44 pm #

    Katie- Yes, I’d recommend them. I loaned them to my best friend to read. She reads horror and I’m a romance/urban fantasy person. She enjoyed them and said that if they were her books she’d keep them to read later.
    I enjoyed the set of books. While I was slightly irritated by the ending, it didn’t bother my friend at all.
    The ending was just that a definite conclusion to an enjoyable series.

  5. Tia October 26, 2007 at 8:32 pm #

    I’ve been thinking about picking this up. Looks good.

  6. Queena May 3, 2008 at 11:13 pm #

    The triology is very well written; I really enjoy the series. The ending was fairly good; I felt that it was a fairly good ending.

  7. scooper May 3, 2008 at 11:45 pm #

    Queena- What I remember liking from the ending is that it was final. It wasn’t a drug out episode that could be transformed into more. I didn’t like the ease with which the evil left. It was as if it lost interest. Thanks for popping by.

  8. sunny September 2, 2009 at 9:31 am #

    is there a site where we can download this book for free

  9. scooper September 11, 2009 at 7:37 pm #

    I don’t think so. It’s a great series though.

Leave a Reply

