The Greek Tycoon’s Pregnant Wife by Anne Mather

27 Nov

Favorite Line: “But once she was alone, she couldn’t prevent the storm of emotion that engulfed her.”

Demetri Souvakis sought out Jane to tell her in person that he wanted a divorce. This led to one last passionate night together and a pregnancy! When Demetri tells Jane that his father is ill and asking for her she doesn’t hesitate to visit the gentle man who’s son she’d married. There she meets Demetri’s future bride, while warding off emotional daggers thrown by her mother-in-law.

I have very little to say about this book that I haven’t said about any other Harlequin Presents books. I had to check the spine to make sure that I hadn’t already read this, as the blurb sounded similar to many other Presents titles. I’m going to save myself some reiteration time by linking to my last rant on this topic. If you care to know more about my feelings on this category romance line of books follow this link.

I didn’t buy the end either. The way the heroine is described at one point makes me think that her pregnancy is obvious, but her husband has sex with her and still doesn’t know that she’s with child. I also don’t believe that a woman can deal with a mean, nasty mother-in-law and suddenly feel no animosity towards her just because she had a baby.

Sometimes I find a great Presents book that makes me want more and other times I feel like I’ve just reread a book. Today I didn’t find incentive to read more of this line.

3 Responses to “The Greek Tycoon’s Pregnant Wife by Anne Mather”

  1. Tempest Knight November 27, 2007 at 4:07 pm #

    The only Harlequin line that I like is Nocturne, and our local Borders is no longer bringing those. *sighs* As for the hero not knowing she was pregnant, we can blame it to him being male maybe? Men are sometimes clueless. *LOL*

  2. scooper November 27, 2007 at 9:54 pm #

    Tempest- What do you think that says for a company? What I mean is, when die hard romance buyers stop purchasing your label wouldn’t you look into the why’s of it?

  3. Sue November 28, 2007 at 8:24 pm #

    Unfortunately, so many of the lines are beginning to be nothing if not formulaic. Kinda makes you scratch your head and wonder, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

