Saint City Sinners by Lilith Saitcrow

3 Dec

Favorite Lines: “Hope you got something worthwhile out of that bitch, that was an expensive favor I did her.” (p. 162)

Saint City Sinners is book four in the Dante Valentine series. In it Dante is called back to Saint City to help her necromance friend, Gabriele Spocarelli. Spocarelli’s in trouble and hiding some big secrets. Secrets that lead the way to death.

Dante is still the devil’s right hand with a duty to find the escaped demons and Japh is going to help her fulfill her commitment whether she wants to or not.

Despite Dante’s warnings, Japh searches for the demons as Dante hunts for revenge forcing the two to clash.

I really haven’t done this book justice in my description of it. If you read the series this is another can’t miss installation. If you haven’t read the previous books in the series, this isn’t the book for you. It is not a stand alone.

One thing that irritated me this time, is how Dante acts like Japh is abusive. He showed some backbone in book three by showing Dante that he wasn’t her whippin’ boy and now she’s all I won’t let you hurt me and he’s gonna hurt me. I don’t see Japh as abusive. Maybe it’s because of her background, I don’t know.

Out of all the books my favorite is book two. It’s an emotional rollarcoaster that had me bawling. I haven’t felt that connection to book three or four, but I’m holding out for it in book five which will be released in January 2008.

Read other reviews here and here.

7 Responses to “Saint City Sinners by Lilith Saitcrow”

  1. Kimberly Swan December 4, 2007 at 11:28 am #

    I was really surprised that there was a lot about her friend that she hadn’t known. I also thought this had a great ending, so we know where the last books starts. πŸ™‚

  2. scooper December 4, 2007 at 11:24 pm #

    I knew that things were strained between them, but I didn’t realize that so much time had passed from book two and and book four. I know that Dante talked about the many leisurely nights she spent eating and studying, but I never really thought about it on an active time line.

  3. Kimberly Swan December 5, 2007 at 12:18 am #

    I guess that was it really, it was that quite a bit of time had passed and they hadn’t been speaking.

    Woohoo…your Av changed! I bet she’s happy to be out of the Farmer’s Market. *grin*

  4. scooper December 5, 2007 at 8:52 am #

    If I could look that good. πŸ™‚

  5. Kimberly Swan December 5, 2007 at 6:26 pm #

    I bet SHE doesn’t have any kids! πŸ™‚

  6. scooper December 6, 2007 at 7:49 am #

    All demons lie.

  7. T.C. December 13, 2007 at 12:34 am #

    I have this series waiting on my bookshelf right now. Though, as you said in your later post, it is a bit weird reading other people’s comments on a book you’ve read or are about to read, it can sometimes give a good heads-up about what to expect. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

