The Devil Inside by Jenna Black

5 Dec

Favorite Line: “The best thing I could do was get the fuck out of there and do some serious thinking.” (p. 70)

Morgan Kingsley hates demons, earns her living as an exorcist, and is an extremely sexual being. She lives in a time where humans host demons, allowing them to enter their bodies.

Demons can leave their hosts whole or brain dead.

Always dreading the idea of possession, she is horrified when she finds herself possessed.

Thus begins the introduction to a world she wants no part of. A world of bondage, betrayal, loss and possession by the King of demons.

He is gorgeous and fighting his brothers for the throne. Demons and humans alike want him dead and unfortunately for Morgan, that means open season on her.

I was slightly hesitant when I learned there were MM scenes. I’m not the biggest fan of MM or FF (I’ve said it before.) I was pleasantly surprised that the scenes didn’t really bother me. But if you don’t like books with bondage, tons of sex or MM, you might want to pass on this book. I would have been happier had the beginning sex scenes with Morgan and her boyfriend been left out. They didn’t add anything to the story for me.

The demonology is interesting. Demons are spirits unable to feel textures until they are in a human body, but they are more practical than humans. There are good demons and bad. Those in favor of using unwilling humans and those in favor of only using humans who want to be hosts.

There are so many places this series can go. The characters are enthralling, the plot gripping and the action, nonstop. It’s an  interesting idea that I look forward to following in book two when it is released. Don’t take my word for it. Reviews are posted here, here and here.

8 Responses to “The Devil Inside by Jenna Black”

  1. LesleyW December 6, 2007 at 3:45 am #

    Another one from my wishlist – don’t keep doing this to me. LOL

    I was going to wait until I’d read a couple of books in her vampire series, but I might forget that and just pick this up. Sounds very interesting.

  2. scooper December 6, 2007 at 7:51 am #

    Lesley- Honestly, I like this much better than the vampire series. I almost didn’t get it because I didn’t like the first book in the vampire series. I don’t remember why, just that I didn’t like it when it came out.

  3. Kimberly Swan December 6, 2007 at 9:24 am #

    Hey Scooper….I totally agree with you that there are so many directions this new series can go. It’s fresh and creative. 🙂

  4. scooper December 6, 2007 at 2:41 pm #

    Kimberly- I’m glad I read your review it made me follow through and buy the book.

  5. dearauthor December 6, 2007 at 2:52 pm #

    Wow. I couldn’t get past the first two chapters. I’ll give it another try though.

  6. scooper December 6, 2007 at 3:11 pm #

    I’ll be the first to admit that the beginning wasn’t the best. The story gets better once Ms. Black gets over the initial sex. It wasn’t until Morgan was at home and realized that she had a serious problem that I began to appreciate the story.

    I want to stress how much the excess sex sucked. It’s thrown in throughout the story and while I enjoy a hot scene, I don’t like them thrown in for the hell of it.

  7. Tempest Knight December 6, 2007 at 3:39 pm #

    I can’t wait to get my copy of this book. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Devil you Know by Jenna Black « Scooper Speaks - May 25, 2008

    […] is stubborn, mean and a hot mess. She suffered physically in The Devil Inside, now she must face the emotional battle: a battle against her ex-boyfriend, brother and parents. […]

Leave a Reply

