The Vampire Shrink by Lynda Hilburn

20 Dec

Favorite Lines: “Running my tongue up and down the length of his fangs seemed to have the same effect as my hand on his erection.” (p. 276)

Kismet Knight is a Denver psychologist who has had a brilliant idea that will make her a best selling author. She is going to cure people who think that they are vampires. She soon meets an 800 year-old vampire and a whole new world begins to open for her. Still thinking that vampires are nothing more than delusional humans, she wearily treats them until she is attacked by two vampires and forced into a world of darkness.

Kismet seems to be in heat. One moment she’s hot for one guy the next moment she’s after another man. It was irritating and appeared to be purely sexual. I’ve got no problem with her playing around, but I just don’t believe that a woman is going to go from ready to jump a man for sexual satisfaction to feeling that same way towards two other men (at one point). Now don’t get me wrong. I mostly enjoyed the book, but her inability to make up her mind was distracting.

I found the old vampire, Devereux, to be quite appealing. There was nothing about him that I didn’t like or would like to see changed. The FBI agent is another matter. I guess his dogged approach to vampires could be viewed as cute, but he constantly chose them over any and every body else. I can’t imagine wanting to be with someone like that.

The story opens up with a girl seeking counseling per her family’s demands, but I don’t feel any sense of closure with that story line. Sure Ms. Hilburn ended the story line, but I’m not satisfied. Nor am I satisfied with the conclusion of the story. It feels forced. The story goes from extreme action to *twiddling my fingers* ho-hum. It is a sudden and drastic fall in action that cleanly wraps up a messy situation.

That said, the story was a nice twist on an interesting genre. Vampires exist and as it is explained have good and bad vampires just as humans do. The mythology doesn’t really come into play, but I did like the idea of stroking fangs being a sexual kind of foreplay. I will read the next installment of this book.

(Oh yeah, I almost forgot. I really like the cover. The picture of the man is matted but there is a trial of blood dripping from the corner of his mouth that is shiny.)

5 Responses to “The Vampire Shrink by Lynda Hilburn”

  1. T.C. December 20, 2007 at 1:26 pm #

    Sounds interesting. Probably not something I’ll pick up, but I too like the cover. That tattoo is cool. 😀

  2. LesleyW December 20, 2007 at 1:36 pm #

    This one has been on my wishlist for a while. I’ve been unable to decide whether to actually buy it or not.

    I think it’s a trade as well? Which makes me more inclined to go with – leave it for a bit longer.

  3. Kelly December 28, 2007 at 6:31 pm #

    I bought the book and it is soooo good. You have to buy it!!

  4. Lacey.B May 19, 2008 at 3:59 am #

    I Love this Book, well parts that I read.
    I haven’t finished it, I am going to get it though.
    haha, I can’t wait to see how it ends.
    =)
    Devereux, It awesome and Honest
    Linda, I love your Books.

  5. scooper May 19, 2008 at 11:40 pm #

    Lacey- I’m always glad to see someone post on a review that’s a few months old. It makes me want to go back and re-read the book and see if I feel the same way. What do you think about the teeth action?

Leave a Reply

