Blood Angel by Justine Musk

21 Dec

Favorite Line: “But I could fall in love with her.” (p. 45)

Jess Shepard is a painter who has been having weird dreams that encourage her to paint the same boy over and over again. 

Ramsey Doe was found covered in blood as a child. Now he’s a teenager, much older than his age with a belief that he is different.

Ashka is the female determined to get both of them. The world will tremble beneath her feet is she has her way. Only there are people who will fight her. They will risk it all to see to it that Ashka is banished once again.

Blood Angel by Justine Musk is a nice change of pace for me. It is a quick and enjoyable read. It isn’t very deep, nor is it superficial and fake. There is a very light romance thread woven into the tale of good versus evil.

My one issue is that while Jess is an interesting character, I wish she had been explored more in depth.

This book could have been a blood bath. It could have gave many gory details in most of the scenes, but Ms. Musk does a good job of keeping the gore to a minimum. It wouldn’t have added to the story and she didn’t use it, leaving this reader quite appreciative. I really hate sex and gore that are thrown in for added pages or shock factor.

This book is labeled as horror, but it felt more like urban fantasy to me. I never became frightened or horrified by anything in it. I think I might just need to look up what the definition of horror as a genre is to grasp the connection.

Overall this book was nice and I’ll be passing it off to my best friend who enjoys Dean Koontz and Stephen King and see what she thinks about it. Have you read it? What do you think?

5 Responses to “Blood Angel by Justine Musk”

  1. T.C. December 22, 2007 at 1:10 pm #

    Sounds pretty good! Kinda creepy and mysterious.

  2. LesleyW December 22, 2007 at 3:47 pm #

    LOL – another one from my wishlist. Though this has been on there ages, and I haven’t got round to buying it yet. I always seem to find some other book that I want more.

  3. Kimberly Swan December 22, 2007 at 4:18 pm #

    When I started reading it I thought it was a bit bizarre, but the author did a great job of taking several threads and leading them into one. I wanted to read Uninvited, but I haven’t gotten around to it, have you?

  4. scooper December 22, 2007 at 6:25 pm #

    T.C.- It’s kinda weird the way it begins with different story lines, but it is worth reading.

    Lesley- I’m glad that I read this book. I had it on my list for awhile and when I decided to order online I picked books that I knew weren’t available at the bookstore down the street.

    Kimberly- I’ve never heard of Uninvited. Now I’m going to B&N to look it up. Is it book two?

  5. Kimberly Swan December 22, 2007 at 9:17 pm #

    I’ve had it on my little wish list for a while and really need to pick it up. I don’t think it’s a sequel, but I’m not sure.

Leave a Reply

