Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs

5 Jan

Favorite Lines: ” Adam pulled into a hug that proved that werewolves aren’t people. Two men, heterosexual and human, would never have touched after a revelation like that.” (p. 264)

Mercy Thompson is back! This time she is helping Zee with a problem on the fae reservation. Several fae have been murdered and he is counting on Mercy’s keen sense of smell to sniff out the murderer. He doesn’t count on the prime suspect being murdered and being arrested for the death of a human.

Of course there’s no way Mercy is leaving  Zee’s life in the hands of his fellow fae, for if they have their way he will die for an crime he didn’t commit to keep human eyes from looking closely at the fae.

Change is coming. Mercy’s life is in danger and her already complicated personal life is about to explode into action.

This book is a culmination of the previous two books in the series. It turns full circle, from book one’s introduction to Mercy and her neighbor Adam, to learning about her past with Samuel. In book three  a decision is made that will surprise fans of the series.

Revelations will be made about the fae and Zee. Nightmares will come to life and dreams will both end and begin. Life seems to have a way of biting everyone in this book, leading the reader to flip each page faster than the last. A major question will arise showing Mercy more vulnerable than ever before.

I don’t have one complaint about this book. The characters and setting were excellent. The pacing was even and well done. I can’t wait for the next installment. I’m hoping that it will address issues from book two (vampires) and any new issues arising after this book.

In the meanwhile, I can’t wait for the book that follows Ms. Briggs short story, Alpha & Omega.

BY THE WAY, CAN YOU TELL THAT I LOVE THE COVER?

9 Responses to “Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs”

  1. T.C. January 5, 2008 at 5:47 pm #

    That tattoo on the cover absolutely rocks.

    Damn, you are a speedy reader! I feel like I’m slacking up! 😀

  2. Kimberly Swan January 6, 2008 at 1:13 am #

    Did her choice surprise you? 🙂

    Awww….your Av has a pet now!

  3. LesleyW January 6, 2008 at 6:50 am #

    I’ve just finished this and loved it. For me, the series has improved with each book. Considering I thought Moon Called was excellent, that’s saying something.

  4. Wendy January 6, 2008 at 10:40 am #

    I LOVE this book!! It was darker than the previous ones but absolutely great, and I’m so happy with her decision!

    And I can’t wait for Cry Wolf (Charles & Anna’s story) either! I think A&O was way too short.

    And all the Mercy covers are lovely!

  5. scooper January 6, 2008 at 12:30 pm #

    T.C.- Yep, it’s a cool cover and tattoo. Briggs is even selling shirts like the one on the cover.

    Kimberly- No, I’m not surprised by the choice. I’m surprised by the way the choice was made.

    Lesley- I’m with you all the way. Each time I read one of her books, I’m more impressed.

    Wendy- It was darker, but I think it’s my favorite. Doesn’t Cry Wolf come out this summer?

  6. Wendy January 6, 2008 at 2:33 pm #

    Scooper, it comes out in August..can you believe we have to wait SO long? Horrible.

  7. Kimberly Swan January 6, 2008 at 5:47 pm #

    She’s thought about having to make the decision so much that it seemed like she suddenly jumped in with both feet, but I’m glad she made the decision. 🙂

  8. scooper January 6, 2008 at 8:49 pm #

    Wendy, that so sucks! What do I do until then?

    Kimberly, It’s not out of character for her when you think about it, but the final page of the book was surprising to me.

  9. T.C. January 8, 2008 at 9:54 pm #

    Okay…I picked this one up. Not sure when I’ll read it, but I couldn’t resist it at the store. 🙂

Leave a Reply

