Touch of Evil by C.T. Adams and Cathy Clamp

15 Jan

touchofevil.jpgFavorite Line: “I wanted her alive so that I could kill her.” (p. 218)

Vampires are not pretty creatures in the world created by Ms. Adams and Ms. Clamp. They are parasites that infest their host and eventually kill them. They are a hive like entity dependant upon each other for survival. They are the Thrall.

Katie Reilly is a strong woman. She has to be if she is to survive the danger that surrounds her. Six years ago, her fiance cheated on her and gave himself to the vampires. Thinking that she could save him, Katie invaded the hive’s home only to be bitten by a vampire. Her strong psychic ability coupled with the venom of the vampire turns her into something else; she is viewed as next in line to be the Thrall Queen.

As if she didn’t have enough to cope with, she finds out that her younger brother’s medical treatment is going to cost her more money and her newly renovated building has just lost a tenant. In walks Mr. August, Tom the Fireman. He is also a werewolf.

Tom begins to attract Katie in a way that she hasn’t felt since her fiance, and she doesn’t know how to react to it. The Queen of Denver, Monica, has also decided that it’s time to pass the crown on to Katie whether she wants it or not.

What’s a girl to do when the world is determined to kill her? Kick butt of course!

This world is different. I’m having a hard time deciding if I like it or not. It is complex and unlike the other paranormal romances out on the shelves. One of the major differences to other books, is the vampire mythology and the werewolf status structure.

Vampires in this world, have evolved right along with humans. They are basically ignored until they can be ignored no longer. They are powerful, psychic creatures capable of great feats, such as holding a room full of people’s minds in trances. The werewolves are different too.

It’s unique to see a werewolf world shaped around a female leader. In this novel men do not rule. While I appreciate the difference and applaud the women’s lib., I also frown my nose at the men being weaker than the woman. I know, I can’t believe I said that, but I do feel that way. I don’t dislike it; I’m just not quite comfortable with it.

Katie is a flawed character. I think that’s part of what makes her likeable realistic to me. The woman cares too much about other people. She’s loyal and willing to risk it all for those she loves. The draw back is that often she ends up getting the short stick or takes all the risk, causing those around her to treat her with hostility.

There’s a ton of descriptions and the story is a good one. I must admit, though that I was a tad bit bored at different moments.

Am I mad I took the time to read this book? No. I even read the next installment.

So, my question to y’all is: Do you ever find situations in books that make you raise an eyebrow? Like me and my teeter tottering with the woman leads pack idea.

5 Responses to “Touch of Evil by C.T. Adams and Cathy Clamp”

  1. T.C. January 15, 2008 at 11:46 am #

    Sweet review. And to answer your question: yes, on occasion. I can remember one a little while back that I did a review on – I didn’t even finish the book because I didn’t have enough eyebrows to raise. It was uncomfortable and just plain-ass weird in a tee-totally different way, but nonetheless…it made my eyebrows levitate a little.

  2. Holly January 15, 2008 at 3:28 pm #

    Great review, and yes, I’ve had that happen more than once.

    The thing is, I don’t like my men to be weaker than my women (When I’m reading a story, I mean). I generally want them to be equally matched. Not that I want the woman stupid and simpering, but I certainly don’t want her dominating her man and making him out to be a sissy.

    OTOH, the premise in this book sounds interesting, and I wonder if the author made it work. I think I’ll pick it up and see. 🙂

  3. Rosie January 15, 2008 at 8:53 pm #

    You know I can accept the woman as leader type of thing, like in Sunny’s books about the Moliere. However, my disclaimer is that the men have to be strong, whole, and well written characters as well. Like Holly mentioned it’s actually the same thing in reverse. A man can have a more dominate sort of job or dynamic than the female as long as she is well written and a whole person too and not a doormat.

    I am intrigued by your review though. I think I might have to pick this one up as well. Looks like you might have sold two books for these authors today. 🙂

  4. Kimberly Swan January 15, 2008 at 10:18 pm #

    Great review. 🙂 The typical TSTL female drives me nuts in a story, but a very weak male does as well. Probably my biggest sticking point is the characters that just a few pages after meeting are suddenly in love.

  5. scooper January 16, 2008 at 6:28 pm #

    T.C.- That’s too bad. I never really think about situations while I’m reading it. I just feel a certain way. Then later I think about it (if I make it that far) and look at my real life ideas vs. my reaction to the book.

    Holly- I like the equal match too. I don’t want the, “I man. You woman.” characters, but I can’t stand a man that allows himself to be run over.

    Rosie- I hadn’t even thought of Sunny. Funny how that didn’t bother me either. I’d love to hear what y’all thought about it.

    Kimberly- I hate that. It’s one of my pet peeves. It’s also one of the reasons I stopped reviewing anthologies and short stories. It didn’t seem fair that I’d be negative about something other people like.

Leave a Reply

