Embrace the Night by Karen Chance

27 Jan

embracethenight.jpgFavorite Line: “The room would have been elegant if it hadn’t been for all the blood.” (p. 92)

Ms. Chance brings us book three in the Casandra Palmer series, which will be available for purchase April 1, 2008. Embrace the Night picks up where Claimed by Shadow ends. (Cassandra had just returned from the past and found out that she doubled the gies that was drawing her and Mircea together.) In book three, the geis, a magical warning system that scares off potential suitors, is making Mircea crazy and Cassandra is searching for a spell book, Codex Merlini, to break the geis.

The grimoire is hidden though, and to find it she must travel back in time. The book contains many powerful spells and in the wrong hands is deadly. This doesn’t deter Cassandra, but encourages her to work closely with Pritkin. She thinks she knows about Pritkin, but quickly learns that there is much more to him.

Ms. Chance clears up a ton of issues in Embrace the Night. We get to see the aftereffects of Claimed by Shadow. We learn a crap load about Pritkin. I was surprised by many of the revelations, as I never would have considered them possibilities. However, later when I thought about them, they made perfect sense.

Pritkin is more of an enigma for parts of this book than in the past. He tried to kill Cassandra for a large part of this series and seemed pretty straight forward. Well, until his past and family came to light. I always thought of him as ugly and unapproachable. This could be because of his crappy attitude in the past, or my general dislike for him.

My feelings changed in Embrace the Night, I found him to be attractive and mysterious. I began to wonder where Ms. Chance was taking me as a reader. Questions such as, “Is Cassandra going to get with Pritkin?” and “What does Pritkin really think/feel about Cassandra?”, kept popping up in my mind. My questions were answered and I focused on other things, such as Mircea.

I was pleased with the Mircea and Cassandra situation. Their story has been unfolding since book one and finally many of the issues between them are addressed and solved. Mircea is definitely an attractive hero for me. He’s powerful and dangerous, yet possesses a strong attachment to Cassandra. He is a master vampire on the brink of insanity but kind of a side note in this book. We see him, but not as much as Pritkin. In the end I was okay with this.

The entire story depends on Cassandra making the right choices. If she chooses wrong, the entire future can be changed and it puts a ton of pressure on her. All the characters are interesting and play a part in this story. There are no petty or insignificant characters. Just when I was ready to write a character off, he/she would reappear with an important role to play.

I enjoyed this book. I don’t know if there will be a fourth book in the series or if it will end here. I hope to read more about Cassandra Palmer’s world, but if the series ends here I wouldn’t be left wondering about specific plot lines. If you want to read the first chapter in this book click here. If you’d like to see the first chapter in the graphic novel click here.

17 Responses to “Embrace the Night by Karen Chance”

  1. LesleyW January 27, 2008 at 7:39 pm #

    I shouldn’t really have read this review, as I haven’t read book 2 yet. It’s still in my TBR pile somewhere, I think.

    But I think Pritkin was one of my favourite characters from book 1 (I compared him to an irate banty rooster I think LOL). So I’m glad to hear he’s getting more page time in upcoming books.

  2. scooper January 27, 2008 at 8:11 pm #

    Lesley- When I was writing the review, I tried to write it without spoiling book two, but there really isn’t a way to write this review without mentioning book two. Pritkin gets a ton of pages in the newest installment.

  3. Kimberly Swan January 27, 2008 at 9:20 pm #

    Oooo…this is one I don’t want to miss. Great review SCooper. 🙂

  4. scooper January 27, 2008 at 9:35 pm #

    Kimberly- Thanks, it is definitely a must buy for those of us into the Cassandra Palmer series and a should buy of three for others who have yet to read about her.

  5. Rosie January 27, 2008 at 10:45 pm #

    Soooo jealous of your prolific reading and reviewing. I’m lagging. I’m currently reading MINE TO POSSESS and loving it though.

  6. scooper January 27, 2008 at 11:02 pm #

    Rosie- Thank you much m’am. Mine to Possess is a great book. I need to update my books read in 2008, but I’m feeling a tad bit lazy…

  7. Wendy January 28, 2008 at 6:53 pm #

    Great review! I’m looking forward to reading this one. 🙂

  8. scooper January 28, 2008 at 7:35 pm #

    Thanks Wendy. I hope you like it.

  9. FantasyGirl February 17, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    Because of your review I’m eagerly awaiting this next release. I’m a fan of Pritkin so I’m interested in learning more about him.

    It sounds like Karen Chance has provided some character growth for Cassie – this is an often overlooked but important element that some writers of fantasy book series tend to ignore.

    Thanks for writing such an informative review.

  10. kris February 20, 2008 at 2:15 am #

    Great review!!!!! I can’t wait for this book. I like Pritkin, but I am a Mircea girl all the way…if Cassie doesn’t want him I will take him. OT: Have you read the chapter’s for her book due out in Oct 08. It is set in this world, and there is a surprise (I guess) about Mircea. Thanks !

  11. scooper February 20, 2008 at 10:00 am #

    Kris- If you hadn’t left that little clue, I’d have been clueless (ha-ha) about Mircea’s involvement in Midnight’s Daughter- Chance’s new book for October.

  12. kris February 21, 2008 at 2:27 am #

    It looks good (from what she has posted on her site) can’t wait to see how it all pans out. At least if there are no more Cassie books, we still have other stories in this setting! Happy reading 🙂

  13. Amanda April 9, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    I just finished this book yesterday. I really enjoyed Pritkin from the start, even though he seems perpetually in a bad mood. I always found him attractive in that “bad boy” way. It seems I keep comparing him to Edward in the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series by Laurell K. Hamilton.

  14. scooper April 9, 2008 at 11:57 pm #

    Amanda – I’ve only read a few of the Anita Blake books, so I don’t have a good comparison in that direction. For me in the first books I almost wrote him off because he did complain so much. But after this book he took on a whole new light and I was able to understand him.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pages tagged "embrace" - January 27, 2008

    […] bookmarks tagged embrace Embrace the Night by Karen Chance saved by 4 others     sushigurl123 bookmarked on 01/27/08 | […]

  2. Upcoming Fantasy Books Worth Waiting For | bestfantasystories.com - February 17, 2008

    […] read the first chapter the new Embrace the Night book at Karen Chance’s website. Then read a great review of Embrace the Night written by Scooper who authors the Scooper Speaks […]

  3. Curse the Dawn by Karen Chance « Scooper Speaks - March 11, 2009

    […] three, Embrace the Night, has everything you need to understand what is going on in this book. This is a series so […]

Leave a Reply

