Fangs for the Memories by Kathy Love

8 Feb

Favorite Lines: “He wanted to sink into her heat. Devour her. Making her scream for him. And he wasn’t talking about with his fangs.” (p. 27)

Rhys Young’s life was transformed when he became a vampire. The years have passed, leaving him lonely and bitter, preying on the scum of society for his dinner. All changed the night he met and saved Jane.

Jane was having a horrible day. She had just moved to New York from Maine for a fresh start, when she lost her new job. That created a domino effect and left her standing in a seedy bar late one night. Vulnerable and pure, she stood out in the ratty crowd and drew the attention of a would be rapist.

Rhys watched the pure woman walk out of the bar with an evil man and cursed himself as he went to ensure her safety. He interrupted the man before he did serious damage, and walked Jane back to her motel room. He then returned to the alley, and his dinner. Once there, he is confronted by his brother, Christian, who tries to kill him only to be interrupted by Jane’s arrival.

Next thing Jane and Rhys know, they’re at Rhys’ home and Rhys thinks he is a viscount in London.

Rhys’ youngest brother, Sebastian tells Jane to play along and pays her to watch Rhys and help him overcome his selective amnesia.

Ms. Love, I like the idea of this story and wondered how you would pull it off. I nodded my head in understanding as Sebastian thought out the reason for Rhys’ amnesia and at the clever way you made it selective. (He still knew modern technology.) You began to lose me though, when Jane began acting stupid.

She lost her appeal to me. Instead of growing fonder of her along with the progression of the story, I began to immensely dislike her. She said their relationship was moving too fast and she wanted to abstain from sex, then she’s telling him never mind. Jane lets Rhys talk to her like dirt and then goes back immediately for more.

I guess my biggest problem with Jane is that she is supposed to be extremely pure and naive. Then she suddenly is worldly enough to understand why Rhys acts the way he does. It’s like the woman I met at the beginning of the book no longer exists. I found her TSTL by the end of the book.

I did enjoy Sebastian. I might read the book about him, but I won’t be recommending this story to anyone today.

Other reviews of this book can be found at the Romance Reader and Glenn’s Daily Script.

6 Responses to “Fangs for the Memories by Kathy Love”

  1. T.C. February 8, 2008 at 6:04 pm #

    Hey, Scoop! How have you been? Got myself a new blog – check it out!

    http://enemyofenemies.wordpress.com/

    🙂 Hope everything’s alright! Looks like you’re keeping pretty busy with books.

  2. Kimberly Swan February 9, 2008 at 11:07 pm #

    Wow, that new cover really threw me. I read this a few years ago, as well as the books that follow. *grin* I think the second book is about Christian.

  3. LesleyW February 10, 2008 at 6:00 am #

    Kimberley – I thought exactly the same thing. I’ve read this too, but with a different cover. I think it was either lime green or bright yellow.

  4. Carolyn Jean February 10, 2008 at 1:45 pm #

    Thanks for the review! Yes, consistency of heroines…it’s a must-have for me, too.

  5. scooper February 10, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    T.C.- Nice look at the new place.
    Kimberly- I really like the cover, especially compared to the old one.:)
    Lesley- I don’t know how I missed this one when it came out the first time.
    Carolyn- I usually check out other reviews after I’ve written mine, and this time it seems that I’m the only person who found fault with the heroine.

  6. Kimberly Swan February 11, 2008 at 11:58 pm #

    I know I have it somewhere, but I can’t find it. I think Lesley is right though, it must have been a bright yellow or green…lol It’ll be interesting to see what they do with the others. 🙂

Leave a comment