Darkling by Yasmine Galenorn

15 Feb

Favorite Lines: “If felt so good to dish like  normal sisters about something other than Shadow Wing and war and bloodshed.” (p. 103)

Menolly is the youngest D’Artigo sister. Twelve Earthside years ago, while on a mission for the OAI (Otherworld Intelligence Agency), she was captured, tortured and turned by the leader of the Elwing Blood Clan, Dredge.

Menolly has come far since then, but due to the close relationship between lust and hunger, has not trusted herself to enter into any sexual relationship, and the fact that Dredge raped and scarred her, physically and emotionally, is creating more havoc than normal.  Add to that Dredge has come Earthside, and he is hunting her.

Suddenly, humans are being drained and are rising as vampires in alarming numbers. An incubus, Roz, has been sent by the queen to aid the D’Artigo sisters in the coming battle against Dredge, but he has an agenda, and they don’t know if they can trust him.

This book made me realize that I don’t like the middle D’Artigo sister. She is back to being a weakling in my mind. Okay, now that I’ve got that off my chest…Menolly went through hell when she was transformed into a vampire, and unfortunately for her, that didn’t stop once the transformation was complete.

She was sent home to her family, with a trail of drained people behind her and her sire’s hope that she kill her family. She resisted her baser nature, but her sisters still look at her in horror upon occasion. This is explained when Menolly admits to keeping them in the dark about the torture and rape.

If you don’t read books with a bisexual theme, this book is not for you. Menolly is confused about what she wants and has a sexual encounter with a woman and man. She never chooses one over the other and I wonder if she is more like her oldest sister, Camille, choosing several sexual partners.

Through the story, we were warned about Dredge and how he was such a bad guy. For a bad guy, the end came rather quickly and much too easy for me. The best part of this book was Menolly’s journey to acceptance and her confrontation with the past.

We learn more about Camille’s relationship with her two lovers, as a prep for book four, Dragon Wytch. I don’t know if Ms. Galenorn plans to continue writing the way she has so far- each book by a different character- or if she will stick to one character.  For me, the next book will make or break the series. I doubt that I will read more books about Menolly or Delilah, they just don’t urge me to know them better.

8 Responses to “Darkling by Yasmine Galenorn”

  1. Kimberly Swan February 15, 2008 at 8:54 pm #

    Wonder how many will be in the series. I originally thought it was a trilogy (obviously that was wrong! lol). I’d love to see Menolly make another journey, or for him to go to her. 🙂

  2. scooper February 15, 2008 at 11:25 pm #

    Kimberly- I don’t know either. When I wrote my first review (for Witchling) I went to the author’s website for a picture and found the cover for book four. I had to revise my review. Do you think she’ll write book 5 about Delilah?

  3. Kimberly Swan February 16, 2008 at 7:53 pm #

    Either we were involved in a mass confusion, or maybe it was changed when they realized there was a large following. 🙂 If she continues in this pattern then it should be Delilah for book 5, but there’s just to telling….lol

  4. scooper February 17, 2008 at 11:30 am #

    Maybe I’ll write her an email and ask her. What do you think?

  5. Kimberly Swan February 18, 2008 at 12:09 am #

    I think that’s a great idea, I’d love to know too. 🙂

  6. scooper February 18, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    I’ve emailed the author about the point of view for the next books in the series. Here’s the reply I received today from her assistant:

    “Yes there will be at least 9 books in the series and they continue through the sisters round-robin style.”

  7. LesleyW February 18, 2008 at 6:06 pm #

    This is one that doesn’t really appeal to me.

    I love the artwork on the covers though. Especially this third book.

  8. Kimberly Swan February 19, 2008 at 12:16 am #

    Thanks for the info SCooper! 🙂

Leave a Reply

