Howling at the Moon by Karen MacInerney

23 Feb

Favorite Lines: “I mean, it’s tough enough being a single mother, but when you’re afraid to put your kid in day care because there’s a chance she might start sprouting teeth and fur in the middle of story time, it’s got to be a total nightmare.” (p. 21)

Sophie Garou has high aspirations. She’s trying to make partner at an affluent accounting firm and her love life couldn’t be better. At least until she receives a phone call telling her that her mother has been arrested on a preliminary felony charge of  murdering a councilman.

As if matters weren’t bad enough, someone found Sophie’s secret; she’s part werewolf. Because werewolves are elitist creatures and don’t tolerate mixed blooded children, she has avoided them. Then while rushing to her mother’s jail cell, a full blooded werewolf walks by, awakening a strong lust in Sophie.

With the full moon coming, rumors flying around the water cooler and Sophie’s best friend falling for the sexy werewolf, Sophie has her hands full, while tying to not be outed and to find the real killer.

Ms. MacInerney has provided the reader with an interesting look into Sophie’s world. To be perfectly honest, when I first began reading I didn’t get sucked into the book. After the first chapter, I was. I wanted to know what would happen to Sophie and her crazy, mother who happened to be a psychic witch. I loved the witty dialogue, and despite my dislike for the way Sophie behaved with her best friend’s beau, I never stopped caring about what happened to her.

It doesn’t hurt that the book looks at werewolves in an interesting manner. For example, Sophie shaves her legs, so when she is in wolf form the legs are shaved. It’s quite comedic.

One of the downers for me came early in the story when Sophie’s dad is talked about. He was a full blood werewolf and supposedly left the family for their safety, but after the first three mentions of this, I’d had enough. I’m pretty sure that it’s set up for the second book, but it’s a little irritating to keep hearing about a man, who is thought to be alive, but never learning more about him.

I don’t know if it’s Ms. MacInerney doing a great job piquing my interest, or if it’s a bit over load on the information.

Overall, Howling at the Moon is a lighthearted and fun look into the life of a paranormal woman trying to remain in the closet. It’s an entertaining paranormal mystery that was fast and evenly paced, and sure to bring readers back for the second installation. Coffee Time Romance has a nice review of the book for anyone interested in another opinion.

4 Responses to “Howling at the Moon by Karen MacInerney”

  1. Kimberly Swan February 25, 2008 at 4:57 pm #

    Hi SCooper – Sounds like you enjoyed it…I thought this was a fun read too. 🙂 I loved the “rash of cross-dressing dogs”…makes me laugh everytime I think about it…lol I’ll have my review and interview up tomorrow too.

  2. FantasyGirl February 29, 2008 at 7:06 pm #

    This sounds like a fun read. I agree with what you say about reading books where certain information is repeated – it’s somewhat annoying when authors do that.

  3. scooper February 29, 2008 at 11:22 pm #

    Kimberly- Yep, I had fun with the book.
    FantasyGirl-It was worth it. I think that most of the repetition is a set up for book two.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lora’s Review: Howling at the Moon by Karen MacInerney | Flight into Fantasy - May 28, 2009

    […] Scooper […]

Leave a Reply

