Dawn’s Awakening by Lora Leigh

25 Feb

Favorite lines: ” If you’re insane enough to go through with your own execution, then I want to at least watch. I haven’t seen a good comedy flick in awhile.” (p. 22)

Dawn Daniels spent years being raped and tested on while in Council hands. Afterwards she spent years being victimized by her pride brother, as he forced her to watch her body be violated over and over again. Meeting Seth saved her. Although he’s human, he is her mate and the thought of him comforted her, until he left. Without a word to her, he stopped visiting her home. He gave up on her.

Or so she thought.

When it became clear to Dawn’s pride that Seth was interested in her, they decided to pull no blows and showed him the tapes that recorded her life in captivity. He saw her brutalized and raped through out her childhood and knew that he never wanted to see that look in her eyes. For her, he walked away. Even though he burned with the mating fever, he left her to heal and tried to find a life without her.

I think we all know that Ms. Leigh writes fiery erotic stories. Her breed series is interesting, but for me this is the best one. That could be because I  erratically read the series. I found the emotional ride with Dawn to be exciting and heartbreaking at the same time. I wanted to see her find herself and more than anything I want to know Cassie’s story.

Seth was a human hero capable of handling the strong feline breed. He gained strength from the mating chemical, but he was still human. Despite his being human, he gave as good as he got. He gave emotionally and physically to Dawn, holding nothing back. He let her know that despite the trauma she had experienced, he still wanted her.

While the emotional relationship between Seth and Dawn was being built, two killers were roaming Seth’s island: one of them a ghost from the past, the other a ghost of the future. I was sucked into the past. I was fascinated with Dawn’s battle against an unknown enemy and that, not the sex, kept me turning the pages.

I read good reviews at My Thoughts on Nothing Much at All and at Thrifty Reader.

3 Responses to “Dawn’s Awakening by Lora Leigh”

  1. Kimberly Swan March 2, 2008 at 12:19 am #

    I’ve read 2 or 3 of the series and just took a peek on her site and now realize I missed quite a few! Sounds like this was fine as a stand-alone, yes?

  2. scooper March 2, 2008 at 1:42 am #

    Kimberly- I think it works fine on its own. I think I would have been irritated, had I read all of the other books where she’s mentioned. Other review sites talk about her being weak until she learns she’s losing her man.

  3. Kimberly Swan March 4, 2008 at 10:19 pm #

    Maybe I’ll have to check this one out then. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

