Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews

4 Mar

Favorite Lines: “You said you were worried about Julie and then your face looked like you had a hemorrhoid attack. Or a really hard…” (p. 136, galley copy)

Kate Daniels found and stopped a killer with a little bit of help in Magic Bites. In Magic Burns she is helping the shapeshifters find a stolen map of their territory and a young girl (Julie) search out her mother ten weeks after Magic Bites ends. During the hunt she meets a mysterious man, who begins to shed light on a hidden battle taking place between two gods.

Magic is burning high and is affecting all around Kate. Dangerous creatures are stalking her, feelings are bouncing between Kate and Curran and secrets are slowly being exposed to light in this fast paced fantasy novel.

Anyone who really knows me, knows that I feel in love with Ilona Andrew’s heroine Kate Daniels last year. I salivated all year until I was lucky enough to win a galley in an Andrew’s contest. When I got it in December I raced through it, but decided to wait until closer to the books release date to share with y’all.

One of the best aspects of Andrew’s books is her ability to write a great dialogue, while managing to not lose the action taking place. She combines hot male characters with a beautiful, intelligent and feisty woman and manages to avoid making them fall straight into bed. To be perfectly honest, I can’t wait until a certain alpha male and Kate do get it on.

Ahem…the action keeps the book moving forward and the added tension of a bored warrior stepping into an alpha shapeshifter’s territory ensures that the book is never dull.

One of my favorite moments in the book takes place in a room with the two men and Kate. It involves a bathrobe, lips and a roar. Need to know more? READ THE BOOK!

It seems important to share how this book made me feel for some reason. I love the way I feel when I read the Kate Daniels books. It’s almost like I vibrate with the energy of the book. By the time the end is near I’m a bundle of nerves looking for an outlet. The huge battle was a perfect way to alleviate the tension I felt. I visually flashed to the rallying that took place in Braveheart.

Anyways, this is book two in the Kate Daniels’ series, but it also works as a stand alone. It’s my opinion though, that any lover of urban fantasy read book one. It’s a great book and paired with book two, you can’t go wrong.

Magic Burns is slated to be released April 1.

Love Vampires has a great interview with Ms. Andrews, if anyone wants to know more about her.

4 Responses to “Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews”

  1. Ilona Andrews March 4, 2008 at 6:21 am #

    :explodes from happy:

    I am so glad the book worked out. Thank you so much for reading it!

  2. scooper March 4, 2008 at 7:33 am #

    Ilona- Hey you did all the work. I’m always happy when a fav. author pulls through with a great book. I’m also pleased that I didn’t have to say anything negative.

  3. LesleyW March 5, 2008 at 3:54 pm #

    I’m frustrated because Amazon UK have this as not available. Arrrgggghhhhhhh!

  4. scooper March 5, 2008 at 4:09 pm #

    Lesley- That would drive me nuts. I’m a sucker for a good series, like this, and I hate to wait, especially if I see other people already have it.

Leave a Reply

